Orzo and Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Really good.. I did not use all off the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This has become the go-to salad for myself, my sister & sisters-in-law this summer. Every potluck or large gathering, we have served it and it always gets great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I really loved the flavor combinations. I could not find currants so I subbed dried cranberries. I accidentally (long story) heated a serving of it up during lunch break. I couldn't wait for it to chill, so I ate it warm. It was still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I've made this for 2 parties and it's been a hit both times. I don't let the rice and pasta cool before I mix it all together though. I think the warm ingredients absorb the dressing better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Excellent salad! Only change was to use a dried berry blend because that's what I had on hand. Everyone enjoyed it. The dressing would be great on a tossed salad as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
As with any recipe, this can be tweaked according to personal preference. I love this version of this recipe and I also love the original at J. Alexander's. They are very similar. Note: This is a lot of choppping. The recipe is simple but a labor intensive and time consuming unless you have Wolfgang Puck's knife skills. Allow extra time and make ahead. I also recommend good music and your favorite glass of wine. My personal preferences: I use a 2:1 ratio of orzo to wild rice. I use regular balsamic vinegar instead of white (for simplicity). I use Craisins instead of currants. I double the dressing recipe and add until it looks right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This took a bit longer than I thought probably because of the time it took to cook the wild rice. BUT this was simple in that it's not fancy and doesn't require any cooking. You can add any veges you'd like to this too. I replaced the currants with dried cranberries and added an asparagus instead of green/yellow bell peppers. I would definitely double the dressing because it was all soaked up the next day not leaving much flavor. Used dark balsamic vinegar instead of white also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Love it. Was thrilled to find this recipe. Sometimes I'd go to J. Alexanders just for this orzo salad... now I can make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I am giving this 5 stars because the concept of the recipie it self is awesome. I agree with all who said the dressing was "lost" or it just needed more of the dressing it self. I doubled the dressing and was not at all sorry, I also added cranberries instead of currents, and BACON!!! The bacon was awesome. I crisped up about a half a pack of smoked bacon- chopped, and YUMmy! I added about a tablespoon of maple syrup as well to my second dose of dressing as I was out of honey from the first batch of dressing. I love this recipe, I made it for Thanksgiving only to get rave reviews and tons of people asking for the recipe, and I'm making it again due to requests for it at Chirstmas. Have fun and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JestaChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
very yummy colorful salad. Changed a few things. I added cucumber, carrot, and fresh spinach. I just used the red pepper and not the green and yellow. I also had regular dark balsamic vinegar so this is what I used. I also used basil infused evoo. I cooked the wild rice in 1/2 chicken broth, 1/2 water for added flavor. Make sure you use the currants (or some type of dried fruit) This makes this salad stand out with a pop of sweetness. added toasted pine nuts because I had some on hand. I also added some crumbled goat cheese right before serving. Everyone raved at how good and pretty this salad was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States