Orzo and Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This a wonderful salad, we ate it hot and cold. I used cranberries it gave just the right amount of sweet and a wonderful pop of color. I did not have white balsamic vinegar so I used what I had the dark balsamic. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Just the dressing alone is worth the 5 stars. I just totally emptied my cubbords with this recipe, including tuna, black beans, orzo, tomatoes and the list goes on. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Really good.. I did not use all off the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This has become the go-to salad for myself, my sister & sisters-in-law this summer. Every potluck or large gathering, we have served it and it always gets great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I really loved the flavor combinations. I could not find currants so I subbed dried cranberries. I accidentally (long story) heated a serving of it up during lunch break. I couldn't wait for it to chill, so I ate it warm. It was still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I've made this for 2 parties and it's been a hit both times. I don't let the rice and pasta cool before I mix it all together though. I think the warm ingredients absorb the dressing better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Excellent salad! Only change was to use a dried berry blend because that's what I had on hand. Everyone enjoyed it. The dressing would be great on a tossed salad as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
As with any recipe, this can be tweaked according to personal preference. I love this version of this recipe and I also love the original at J. Alexander's. They are very similar. Note: This is a lot of choppping. The recipe is simple but a labor intensive and time consuming unless you have Wolfgang Puck's knife skills. Allow extra time and make ahead. I also recommend good music and your favorite glass of wine. My personal preferences: I use a 2:1 ratio of orzo to wild rice. I use regular balsamic vinegar instead of white (for simplicity). I use Craisins instead of currants. I double the dressing recipe and add until it looks right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This took a bit longer than I thought probably because of the time it took to cook the wild rice. BUT this was simple in that it's not fancy and doesn't require any cooking. You can add any veges you'd like to this too. I replaced the currants with dried cranberries and added an asparagus instead of green/yellow bell peppers. I would definitely double the dressing because it was all soaked up the next day not leaving much flavor. Used dark balsamic vinegar instead of white also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Love it. Was thrilled to find this recipe. Sometimes I'd go to J. Alexanders just for this orzo salad... now I can make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States