Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Doubling the sauce mix really added more flavor! I used half honey mustard and half dijon. I cut down the olive oil by a half. My husband loves asparagus, so it was fun to find something so delicious and different to incorporate asparagus with pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I'm looking forward to trying this recipe. I will tweak for circumstances as most do. Just wanted to share a tip on asparagus; After trimming the woody butt ends, I blanch the asparagus for one minute in boiling water, then hit it with an ice water bath immediately. This preserves the nice green color, and keeps it from getting too soft and mushy too soon. Of course the more time spent in an acidic "dressing" (vinegar/citrus)based, the more the plant tissue will break down, so go for portion control and only cook what you're pretty sure is going to go away same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I have forgotten to review this recipe!! I came across this recipe about 4 years ago, I fell in love with it as soon as I tasted it. I have now made it at least 70 times since. I came in to look at it because I couldn't remember if it called for green onions or not and realized I had never reviewed. Thank you for this! It's great in the summer as a side dish or as a main dish when it's too hot to cook. It has impressed everyone I've made it for. Making it today and can't wait to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Sauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Exceptionally good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Made for first time on July 4, 2014. It looked beautiful and was delicious. Everyone, including my husband who does not eat shrimp, liked it! I cooked the asparagus separately, after peeling them (as recommended by Julia Child). Did not have white balsamic, so used regular balsamic, and used less that 1 TB. Just made it last night and my husband exclaimed that it’s very tasty and he likes it. It’s a keeper! Next time will double the sauce, which is what makes the dish. The lemon, the mustard honey (which had not tried until now) and the basil make a great combination. Will make dish for book club friends with brown rice or quinoa in lieu of orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I know- I know- Everyone hates to have reviews on recipes that have been changed! However, if my changes will guide someone else, here goes! Instead of making this a pasta salad, I treated this like a stir fry. I made no changes to the ingredients, except to sub leftover brown rice for the orzo and increasing the basil and sauce to our taste. No orzo in the house that day. I stir fried the shrimp, garlic, onions and asparagus. When cooked through, I added the lemon/vinegar/mustard sauce (I increased the sauce slightly). Served with the rice. From start to finish it all took about 15 minutes and got rave reviews all around. Next time I will try the recipe as written. It must be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
The first time I made this I followed the recipe as published and found it to be rather bland, but with possibilities. So the next time I made it I added chopped red pepper, sliced black olives and cherry tomatoes. I used cooked shrimp, so instead of boiling the shrimp shells, I added Old Bay and a dab of anchovy paste to the pasta water for added flavor. And finally instead of using the dressing suggested I combined a little light mayo with light champagne dressing for a rich and creamy dressing. Yes, I know, I completely changed the recipe, but that's the beauty of using recipes from Allrecipes, it brings out the creative cook in me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is absolutely delicious. We followed the recipe and added black olives and halved cherry tomatoes. Would also be good with chopped chicken. We'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very tasty! Great cold side to have handy and/or a delicious main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and found the flavor to fall flat. With the list of ingredients I don';t see how that could happen, but it did! Not likely to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States