Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Made for first time on July 4, 2014. It looked beautiful and was delicious. Everyone, including my husband who does not eat shrimp, liked it! I cooked the asparagus separately, after peeling them (as recommended by Julia Child). Did not have white balsamic, so used regular balsamic, and used less that 1 TB. Just made it last night and my husband exclaimed that it’s very tasty and he likes it. It’s a keeper! Next time will double the sauce, which is what makes the dish. The lemon, the mustard honey (which had not tried until now) and the basil make a great combination. Will make dish for book club friends with brown rice or quinoa in lieu of orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I know- I know- Everyone hates to have reviews on recipes that have been changed! However, if my changes will guide someone else, here goes! Instead of making this a pasta salad, I treated this like a stir fry. I made no changes to the ingredients, except to sub leftover brown rice for the orzo and increasing the basil and sauce to our taste. No orzo in the house that day. I stir fried the shrimp, garlic, onions and asparagus. When cooked through, I added the lemon/vinegar/mustard sauce (I increased the sauce slightly). Served with the rice. From start to finish it all took about 15 minutes and got rave reviews all around. Next time I will try the recipe as written. It must be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
The first time I made this I followed the recipe as published and found it to be rather bland, but with possibilities. So the next time I made it I added chopped red pepper, sliced black olives and cherry tomatoes. I used cooked shrimp, so instead of boiling the shrimp shells, I added Old Bay and a dab of anchovy paste to the pasta water for added flavor. And finally instead of using the dressing suggested I combined a little light mayo with light champagne dressing for a rich and creamy dressing. Yes, I know, I completely changed the recipe, but that's the beauty of using recipes from Allrecipes, it brings out the creative cook in me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is absolutely delicious. We followed the recipe and added black olives and halved cherry tomatoes. Would also be good with chopped chicken. We'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very tasty! Great cold side to have handy and/or a delicious main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and found the flavor to fall flat. With the list of ingredients I don';t see how that could happen, but it did! Not likely to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Delicious - I prepared the recipe as stated and then did it as another reviewer suggested - stir fried the chopped up asparagus with the garlic and shrimp at the same time - which is the way I now prefer it. I have made it 3 times this past week and given the recipe to 2 others. I'm buying some more asparagus tomorrow so I can make it again. A great way to use fresh asparagus for my husband who totally dislikes the vegetable but likes this salad. Not that I want to waste it on him if he doesn't like it but I also don't want to have to prepare two separate meals;-) Used regular Balsamic vinegar as I had no white. Orzo isn't a very white pasta anyway, so the appearance didn't change appreciably. DE LISH US!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Really great and light! I think it needed more dressing because I prepared it early so I doubled the dressing and added some more right before we ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpec24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great recipe!! I used whole wheat orzo, doubled the lemon juice, and regular balsamic vinegar cuz I didn't have white. I overcooked the orzo a little but it still turned out really well! The asparagus cooks quickly once you add it to heat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Quick and easy and very tasty! I made this and didn't let it chill for the 2hours, we just ate it warm and it was excellent. My husband is planning on having the left overs for lunch today as a chilled salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States