Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Some reviewers have called this bland - I say it's mild, which sometimes is just what is called for to complement what it's served with. If this were a main dish I might agree it would be missing something substantial, but as a side dish it complemented, rather than competed with, the main dish. That said, I still "enhanced" it just a bit - I browned the rice along with the orzo, cooked it in chicken broth as well as the bouillon, and added another couple of tablespoons of butter and a tiny pinch of saffron. Just before serving I stirred in a little chopped fresh parsley for freshness and color. A really enjoyable side dish that's bound to make its way to my table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This is like a cheap low salt version of RiceARoni. I've used vegetable and beef bullion and both were good. I browned a small chopped onion in the butter before the pasta, and added extra parmasan cheese. This is the sort of side dish that could be edited to match pretty much any main dish. And it doesn't stick to the bottom of the pan like other rice dishes. I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
After reading the other reviews, I doubled the bouillon. This was good, but next time I will even add more bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NainInCandia
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was a nice change from regular rice. I did make some alterations to the recipe after reading the reviews. 1. 2 tsp of butter and olive oil to brown the orzo 2. Used low sodium chicken stock instead of the chicken cubes 3. Added some shredded carrots,1 small diced onion,2 cloves of chopped garlic and about 7 medium chopped mushrooms. All of these were sauteed after I browned the orzo. Then I added the rice and stock. 4. Added just a sprinkle of garlic salt and some dried parsley for color. With these changes this is a definate 5 star recipe. Need I say that I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We really enjoyed this side dish!! I doubled the recipe because I always make extra rice to have for later meals. I also added about .5 tspn of italian seasoning to the browning orzo step. I don't ever buy rice a roni, and I think I've eaten it once in my life,but I LOVED this recipe!! The orzo makes it almost creamy,and makes "rice“ so much better! I also plan on making it often! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Waaaaay too bland as written! Potentially easy to improve though. Next time I'd take the other reviewer's advice and add sauteed onion, minced garlic, fresh parsley, Parmesan cheese, slivered almonds, salt, and pepper. When I get around to that, I'll post my own recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Great side dish. I used chicken broth instead of the boullion and water, and sauted a little onion and minced garlic with the rice. We enjoyed this change from our usual white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
This was really good. I cut the butter to 1 T. and increased the rice/orzo to 3/4 c. each, with 3 c. of canned low-salt chicken broth (what I had on hand). The butter adds a lot of flavor - and 1 T. is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
We eat this about once a week at our house. My only tip would be to add more boullion. You can use beef or chicken. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This is a great base recipe. You can add just about anything to it and change the flavor of it a hundred times. I added garlic and some salt and pepper. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States