Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I just made this dish. We loved it. Fast & easy. I thought I had over-browned the Orzo, but it still very good. I used brown rice instead of white, and 50-50 olive oil & butter, fresh parsley, and 2 vegetarian chicken bouillon. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was not super exciting - but made a nice change from plain white rice that I sometimes make to accompany meals. I used homemade chicken broth instead of the bullion and water. I will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Excellent side dish for chicken or fish. Can use chicken stock or broth (in a box) to save time. I have made this several times and have served it to company. It's a winner and a keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I agree with naples34102, you don't want too many tastes competing with each other on the same plate. This is how I always make my rice but the addition of orzo makes it more interesting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NainInCandia
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was a nice change from regular rice. I did make some alterations to the recipe after reading the reviews. 1. 2 tsp of butter and olive oil to brown the orzo 2. Used low sodium chicken stock instead of the chicken cubes 3. Added some shredded carrots,1 small diced onion,2 cloves of chopped garlic and about 7 medium chopped mushrooms. All of these were sauteed after I browned the orzo. Then I added the rice and stock. 4. Added just a sprinkle of garlic salt and some dried parsley for color. With these changes this is a definate 5 star recipe. Need I say that I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Great recipe! I add some fried mushrooms to this dish after it's cooked. A few drops of "Maggi" is also very nice. It's like the original "Rice-a-roni" but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipe is so simple and SO tasty! Thanks for sharing. I've already made it twice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindi Lyon Buell
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Cloverdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Absolutely fantastic. Great substitute for plain rice when making stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
My family really enjoyed this. I used 3 bullion cubes (which admittedly that is a lot of salt) and added one sliced green onion. This will be a part of our regular rotation. It's a lot like Lipton/Knorr rice mix, only home made. You could certainly spruce this up with other veggies or chopped meat for a more filling dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Buttery. Bland, would like to have another recipe with more interesting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States