Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Used small star-shaped pasta (was out of orzo), beef bouillon cube and a generous pinch of saffron. I did brown both pasta and rice; seeing as I used basmati I definitely wouldn't brown it the next time as it got mushy in the rice cooker. This would be great with the addition of onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I am a child of the late 50s-60s. This is Rice-A-Roni at it's best without the MSG and the poly words we can't pronounce. For those who think it's bland, bland has it's place. I serve this with a very seasoned chicken and it's perfect. If you need more seasoning, then add it. This will be the base for a lot of rice dishes from now on. I'm a little annoyed I didn't figure this out myself. Cudos, great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Love, love, loved it! So easy and so tasty!!! I did saute mushrooms with the garlic before adding the orzo and it was magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORONAQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
My husband is a cyclist, and I need to come up with carb and protein-heavy meals for the night before he races.. He thinks chicken and rice is the best combo, but I'd been getting bored of plain old rice. Last night I made roasted chicken, sauteed asparagus, and this orzo and rice--topped it with a little grated parmesan and a dash of balsamic vinegar--amazing! I used 2 cups of my own chicken stock rather than the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I enjoyed this very much. It's quick, easy and has a nice light flavor. Went very nice with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Very simple! Mild flavor and delicious. It was a hit with my husband and 3 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
everyone loved it!! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
As is, it was a little bland. I ended up adding garlic salt and Parmesan cheese and that made it quite delicious and a nice side to our roast chicken. A good crowd pleaser with a few additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I thought this was nice change up. Mild, yes, but still had a good flavor from the toasted orzo & butter. I mainly stuck to the recipe. The one thing I did differently was using a beef bouillon cube instead of chicken because it was what I had on hand. I sped the process up a tad by boiling the water in an electric kettle as I toasted up the rice. It was done in no time! I will make this again as the recipe calls for but perhaps putting adding a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very nice, make sure to brown the orzo maybe add 6-8 oz sliced mushrooms and a handful of frozen peas when you come to the "let sit for 15 min" just toss on top once it has come to a boil and you reduce the heat. I liked a bit more kosher salt, maybe the reduced sodium broth is not necessary with such a short cooking time. Brown in butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States