Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Yummey!! Served this unchanged recipe with the Honey Glazed Mahi Mahi and I can't wait to fix this one for company. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was very good! (went fast!) I did a HUGE variation on it because I was really going for a risotto dish, but I used this recipe as a base, and what the others suggested. I cooked some diced chicken, put it off to the side, browned onion and garlic and then the rice (3/4c each) in white wine. Poured in Chicken stock and put in my spices. Let that sit for about 30-40 min. Added fresh parmesan cheese. It got nice and thick. added the chicken and even put in some proscuitto (thinly sliced)!! Put more cheese...! It was super yummy. I'm not big on the bouillon, but it's a good recipe regardless. Everyone has their own tastes though, it's easy to put variation on it! Recommended with creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
As is this was good, but like others said a little bland. I added some garlic to it. Then, after it was done, I stirred in some fresh chopped parsley, basil and oregano from my herb garden. I made this to go with Bacon Wrapped Duck Breasts - another recipe from this site and they went great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This receipe was so simple, and tasted pretty good. While I agree with others that it needs a little more flavor, that's almost the beauty of the recipe. It's a great base that you can build on to suit your taste or to complement what you're serving. I served it with key west chicken, and I thought it was a good side. DH added a little garlic tomato spice blend, and he thought that made it a 5. Whether as is or doctored up, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Used small star-shaped pasta (was out of orzo), beef bouillon cube and a generous pinch of saffron. I did brown both pasta and rice; seeing as I used basmati I definitely wouldn't brown it the next time as it got mushy in the rice cooker. This would be great with the addition of onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I am a child of the late 50s-60s. This is Rice-A-Roni at it's best without the MSG and the poly words we can't pronounce. For those who think it's bland, bland has it's place. I serve this with a very seasoned chicken and it's perfect. If you need more seasoning, then add it. This will be the base for a lot of rice dishes from now on. I'm a little annoyed I didn't figure this out myself. Cudos, great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Love, love, loved it! So easy and so tasty!!! I did saute mushrooms with the garlic before adding the orzo and it was magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORONAQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
My husband is a cyclist, and I need to come up with carb and protein-heavy meals for the night before he races.. He thinks chicken and rice is the best combo, but I'd been getting bored of plain old rice. Last night I made roasted chicken, sauteed asparagus, and this orzo and rice--topped it with a little grated parmesan and a dash of balsamic vinegar--amazing! I used 2 cups of my own chicken stock rather than the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I enjoyed this very much. It's quick, easy and has a nice light flavor. Went very nice with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Very simple! Mild flavor and delicious. It was a hit with my husband and 3 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States