Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I have cooked my rice in fashion for a long time and it is great way to mix the two things my family love. I saute some onions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
It was just OK the first time I made it. Needed adjustment to be delicious. Used a mix of butter/olive oil to brown orzo. Added garlic and rice for about 30 secs before adding chicken broth. Added dried parley, chives, paprika and just a small dash of cayenne and tumeric to make it look like the store bought version. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This is a good dish for extremely picky eaters because it is very bland - no flavors to offend anyone here to speak of. Had some orzo and rice in the cabinet so this landed on the menu - thanks for the recipe, my kids really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
A nice, simple recipe! I read the reviews and added an extra boulion cube, a dash of pepper and a pinch of saphron. So good with fish and veggies. (Used the parmesan tilapia recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This version of the recipe is just a starting point. I added mushrooms, onions, garlic, and some lemon rind, but I think almost anything can be added. I plan to throw raisins and nuts into this side dish in the future. I also try to use my own stock instead of boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrywdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
A hit in my house. No changes needed, but we like it with some carrots, mushrooms, and onions added too. Be sure to brown the orzo well before adding the rice, as this gives it a nice, nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
What a great recipe. It lends itself to any additions quite well. I added some shredded carrot, garlic, onion, and mushrooms. It really was delicious and will change up easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I doubled the bouillon, added a little salt and some fresh parsley at the end. I found it to be ok for a side dish. If I make again I will add a few more spices to give it a little more flavor. I will also add more liquid as my rice was crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written and it made a nice change. Next time I will add an extra chicken cube to add more flavor. But my fsmily reslly enjoyed the rice. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was so good. I did add onions and mushrooms to it and pepper. I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States