Orzo and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
My 16 yo sister made this and it came out really good! She is still learning so we had a little complication here and there, ummmm would recommen dissolving bouillion in water before pouring into rice mix, and occaisionally check and stir. Thanks for the recipe, great learning experience!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I melted the butter and sauted a frozen seasoning blend (celery, onions, green and red peppers and parsley) for a few minutes before following the recipe the rest of the way and added a few shakes of garlic salt five minutes before finishing. Very easy, very tasty and extremely satisfying unlike packaged alternatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Yum! My hubby and I are rice-a-roni lovers and its nice to have a homemade version to do. (cheaper too) As others have said this is definitely a mild recipe, but its an excellent base for variations. I like to mix in peas and parm cheese at the end. The only thing I do differently is use chicken broth instead of water and bouillon (tip - use the low sodium c. broth. Instantly healthier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katkiv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
After reading the reviews I decided to add one small onion and chopped celery to this receipe as well as use two cups of chicken broth instead of the boullion. I sauteed the onions and celery in peanut oil and then added the butter to melt. The two tablespoons were quickly absorbed by the vegetables so I threw in another tablespoon before adding both the orzo and rice (note different from recipe which says add orzo only) I light browned the rice and orzo and then added the broth and cooked for 20 mintes. It was fabulous. Even my finickey 16 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
EXCELLENT! I will never buy the rice n' roni in a box ever again, will use this as the basic recipe. Doubled the bouillion and added a little italian seasoning. GREAT DISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very good! I added garlic and sauted onions along with pasley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Very good! This is a mildly flavored side dish. I served it with Chili-Lime Chicken Kabobs (also from this site) and it paired very well with the more boldly flavored kabobs - no flavors to conflict. As with most pasta or rice sides, I made this earlier in the day and it reheated beautifully in the microwave. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
you know, this was great. You can add just about any seasoning you want to it. Like other reviewers have said, its like rice a roni -but without MSG and all othe ther preservatives that seem to be in just about everything. when the pasta was almost toasted I added one clove of thinly sliced garlic (we love garlic) The kids loved it. We had it as a side to our pan seared filet mignon(it was on sale) and roasted veggies. I will definately make it again, probably quite often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiff
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
What a simple side dish recipe to have around. My kid's love the Lipton rice side dishes and this a close match. After reading some of the reviews on it tasting a little bland, I decided to alter the recipe a smidge (which I don't like doing). I went to the spice rack and grabbed some thyme, rosemary, basil and parsely to add a little more flavor and a splash of color. Overall a good recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is very good. As others have noted, it doesn't pack a huge flavor punch. Still, we enjoyed the simple chicken flavor, and the subtle flavor makes this pair well with many other dishes. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States