Orzo and Potato Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Wow! Doggie-Daddy asked, "Are we out of food?" and I replied, "Why no!" and quickly searched for a recipe involving orzo et voila! -- this recipe certainly did the trick. It's a keeper. While cooking the smell is wonderful: like hashbrowns (potato is in the mix) and I do declare that Parmesan may be omitted. . . I tasted it before pouring on the cheese and it can really be eaten either way. Also added thai pepper for a touch of heat and didn't have carrots so yes! it's a good base to go on -- orzo, potatoes, onions, garlic, butter are the musts for this taste I think. Only thing though, it took me longer than 30 mins. (the simmering alone is 12 mins.) and there's minced, dicing, peeling involved so I'd say it generally would take about an hour instead... or am I just a turtle. Eat it up dudes! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I make this quite often. I love it. I do add extra garlic but, that's it. The Italian seasonings and parmesan are a perfect blen. It's a great side to almost anything. Company is always impressed. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
real good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
We added mushrooms...and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia693

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was REALLY good. The flavors and textures just worked. I needed some new ideas for my vegetarian daughter, but the whole family loved this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Great and very simple! I used two cups curly pasta instead of one cup orzo (same amount of water) and it turned out just fine. I completely forgot the parmesan cheese too and it was still tasty! This is a good healthy and hearty meal, the only 'bad' thing in here is the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
My wife and I cooked this and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJREITER

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My husband and I love this one. I usually increase the carrots, and add a good amount of dried basil. Make sure to cut the potatoes small or it will take a long time to cook. We also like a lot of Parmesan for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My full-blooded Italian husband LOVED this recipe! He has been asking for it repeatedly since. "This is an easy to make authentic, Italian dish with robust flavors and is very addicting."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss Menna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Great side dish! I had no Italian seasoning and substituted with fenugreek and parsley, but I thought the taste was really nice with a great combination of vegetables with orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States