Orzo and Potato Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Wow! Doggie-Daddy asked, "Are we out of food?" and I replied, "Why no!" and quickly searched for a recipe involving orzo et voila! -- this recipe certainly did the trick. It's a keeper. While cooking the smell is wonderful: like hashbrowns (potato is in the mix) and I do declare that Parmesan may be omitted. . . I tasted it before pouring on the cheese and it can really be eaten either way. Also added thai pepper for a touch of heat and didn't have carrots so yes! it's a good base to go on -- orzo, potatoes, onions, garlic, butter are the musts for this taste I think. Only thing though, it took me longer than 30 mins. (the simmering alone is 12 mins.) and there's minced, dicing, peeling involved so I'd say it generally would take about an hour instead... or am I just a turtle. Eat it up dudes! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I had to add quite a bit of spices and extra garlic but it was a good start to a recipe. I also added the water and boullion with the potatoes as soon as the orzo and garlic was done cooking. Otherwise I think it would have taken longer to cook the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This is pretty good, definitely a good starting point. I found it a bit bland, personally, but my family loved it. (Usually they say things _I_ like are bland :-p) Adding extra salt, stirring in some crunchy veggies near the end, or adding something spicy such as cayenne could really brighten this dish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I changed this up a bit & everyone loved it! Used half butter, half EVOO to start. After browning orzo & sauteing garlic added onion, brocolli & califlower & a small amt. of frozen peas & sauteed another 5 min. Added 2 1/2 c. of veggie broth (not water & 1 bullion cube ... too bland) & potatoes. Used fresh oregano & basil in place of dried seasonings. Didn't need even 1/2 c. of parmesan after that, just a sprinkling. Took 35 minutes start to finish, including chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnloveswings

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Great side dish! I had no Italian seasoning and substituted with fenugreek and parsley, but I thought the taste was really nice with a great combination of vegetables with orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My full-blooded Italian husband LOVED this recipe! He has been asking for it repeatedly since. "This is an easy to make authentic, Italian dish with robust flavors and is very addicting."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss Menna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My husband and I love this one. I usually increase the carrots, and add a good amount of dried basil. Make sure to cut the potatoes small or it will take a long time to cook. We also like a lot of Parmesan for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Not bad...I had no carrots so used peas and frozen kernel corn instead...it is a bit bland though, and I felt the italian seasoning was overpowering. I will make this again, but will omit the thyme and use more oregano and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
We added mushrooms...and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia693

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was pretty good. I didn't have vegetable bouillon, so used chicken broth for the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by See2Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

Cheesy, crispy, and delicious, roasted red potatoes.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States