Orzo Tomato Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I had a pint of grape tomatoes that I used instead of large tomatoes and I chose to cut my artichoke hearts into smaller bits. I did add a little salt and fresh ground pepper. This is a fabulous cold salad--one that I would have never come up with myself. I think this would be just as good with chopped cucumbers and crumbled feta cheese, too. We had this with leftover barbeque pork short ribs--it went very well together. Everyone loved it, my husband and kids even asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 05, May 2012 ~ I first made this as written, but omitting the olives, as we don't care for them, but add the Parmesan cheese. It was just ok, but not alot of flavor after 24 hours. Guys weren't too fond of it. I then add some salt, pepper, red onion and feta cheese. This added what we felt was missing from the original recipe. I'm glad we tried it, but probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Recipe Group selection of 5/6/12. This didn't get very enthusiastic comments here. We all felt it lacked flavor other than what the balsamic vinegar imparted. Maybe if I had used marinated artichokes it would have been better for our taste. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Reading the other reviews I can see I'm in the minority here, but I did not "love" this - it was just "okay." I made it for recipe group, as written (with the exception of using about 1 1/2 c grape tomatoes, cut in half) - but really wanted to add, at the least green onion and feta. It also needed, maybe salt, maybe some other spices. Someone mentioned it would be good with sesame - which made me think replacing some of the olive oil with sesame oil would be tasty . . . I doubt I'll make this again - because if I do, I'll end up doctoring it up, and making it into my regular pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group this week. I made a mini version, roughly 1/4 of the recipe. I had cooked orzo in my freezer, so I used that, and just eyeballed the other ingredients. I used white balsamic vinegar, because I was afraid my orzo would turn dark if I used regular balsamic. This was very good and we enjoyed it, but it definitely needs salt and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is a good basic recipe, simple and light. I used a little less oil than called for, about 1/3 cup, and that consistency was good for us. I used a very good quality balsamic which enhanced the flavor of the other ingredients instead of covering it. I do think the quality of the balsamic you use will affect the outcome significantly - the better the balsamic, the better the flavor. We prefer Kalamata olives to black so I made that substitution and I think that was a very good choice given the other ingredients. I will make this again, and with the change in olives next time will also add in a little red onion and a little cucumber and perhaps feta to give it more of a Mediterranean feel. The concept of this recipe is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Loved this light and refreshing side! I prepared for the Recipe Group pick of the week. I prepared as a cold salad, and used Marzetti's Balsamic Vinaigrette in leu of the vinegar and olive oil (out of balsamic!). I also added a few shakes of galic and onion powders, sea salt and white pepper. A great summer side for BBQ, I'll do this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
this was very tasty, added pepper to taste and served cold with meat off the grill. I love spring and all the salads it has to offer. Next time I would coat the pasta with a little oil when warm then add the other ingredients and use less oil in the finished dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...This is soooo good! It does need salt and pepper, IMO, but other than that, the flavors are great and the amount of dressing is spot on. I used the parmesan cheese, and I think that is a must! I tried this both warm and cold and loved it both ways. I will def. be making this over and over!~ Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group this week. I had to make a couple changes based on what I had on hand- I was out of balsamic vinegar, so used red wine vinegar instead. Also, used dried basil instead of fresh, one large tomato chopped, and a slightly smaller can of artichokes. We ate this warm, and it was delicious! I have a feeling that it will be even better cold, but we don't have a whole lot left :). And it made a large batch. I would definitely make this one again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States