Orzo Tomato Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I had a pint of grape tomatoes that I used instead of large tomatoes and I chose to cut my artichoke hearts into smaller bits. I did add a little salt and fresh ground pepper. This is a fabulous cold salad--one that I would have never come up with myself. I think this would be just as good with chopped cucumbers and crumbled feta cheese, too. We had this with leftover barbeque pork short ribs--it went very well together. Everyone loved it, my husband and kids even asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...This is soooo good! It does need salt and pepper, IMO, but other than that, the flavors are great and the amount of dressing is spot on. I used the parmesan cheese, and I think that is a must! I tried this both warm and cold and loved it both ways. I will def. be making this over and over!~ Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Loved this light and refreshing side! I prepared for the Recipe Group pick of the week. I prepared as a cold salad, and used Marzetti's Balsamic Vinaigrette in leu of the vinegar and olive oil (out of balsamic!). I also added a few shakes of galic and onion powders, sea salt and white pepper. A great summer side for BBQ, I'll do this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group this week. I had to make a couple changes based on what I had on hand- I was out of balsamic vinegar, so used red wine vinegar instead. Also, used dried basil instead of fresh, one large tomato chopped, and a slightly smaller can of artichokes. We ate this warm, and it was delicious! I have a feeling that it will be even better cold, but we don't have a whole lot left :). And it made a large batch. I would definitely make this one again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
this was very tasty, added pepper to taste and served cold with meat off the grill. I love spring and all the salads it has to offer. Next time I would coat the pasta with a little oil when warm then add the other ingredients and use less oil in the finished dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I brought it to the fly fishing club meeting, 2 men asked me for the recipe! Very light, tasty pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I did change this a bit. Added some seasoning to the dressing, just needed a little more flavor. Used a mixture of olives, but overall it was good. Tthe orzo, olive, artichoke and tomato mixture is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group this week. I made a mini version, roughly 1/4 of the recipe. I had cooked orzo in my freezer, so I used that, and just eyeballed the other ingredients. I used white balsamic vinegar, because I was afraid my orzo would turn dark if I used regular balsamic. This was very good and we enjoyed it, but it definitely needs salt and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this for the Recipe Group selection of 5/5/2012. This made a delicious cold salad which is something I love to prepare during the summer. The artichokes that I used had been marinated, and it may be that marinade that I felt didn’t work as well as I had hoped, but it was still very good. I agree with the others about adding salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 05, May 2012 ~ I first made this as written, but omitting the olives, as we don't care for them, but add the Parmesan cheese. It was just ok, but not alot of flavor after 24 hours. Guys weren't too fond of it. I then add some salt, pepper, red onion and feta cheese. This added what we felt was missing from the original recipe. I'm glad we tried it, but probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States