Orzo Tomato Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I did change this a bit. Added some seasoning to the dressing, just needed a little more flavor. Used a mixture of olives, but overall it was good. Tthe orzo, olive, artichoke and tomato mixture is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is a good basic recipe, simple and light. I used a little less oil than called for, about 1/3 cup, and that consistency was good for us. I used a very good quality balsamic which enhanced the flavor of the other ingredients instead of covering it. I do think the quality of the balsamic you use will affect the outcome significantly - the better the balsamic, the better the flavor. We prefer Kalamata olives to black so I made that substitution and I think that was a very good choice given the other ingredients. I will make this again, and with the change in olives next time will also add in a little red onion and a little cucumber and perhaps feta to give it more of a Mediterranean feel. The concept of this recipe is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Recipe Group selection of 5/6/12. This didn't get very enthusiastic comments here. We all felt it lacked flavor other than what the balsamic vinegar imparted. Maybe if I had used marinated artichokes it would have been better for our taste. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 05, May 2012 ~ I first made this as written, but omitting the olives, as we don't care for them, but add the Parmesan cheese. It was just ok, but not alot of flavor after 24 hours. Guys weren't too fond of it. I then add some salt, pepper, red onion and feta cheese. This added what we felt was missing from the original recipe. I'm glad we tried it, but probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I brought it to the fly fishing club meeting, 2 men asked me for the recipe! Very light, tasty pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Reading the other reviews I can see I'm in the minority here, but I did not "love" this - it was just "okay." I made it for recipe group, as written (with the exception of using about 1 1/2 c grape tomatoes, cut in half) - but really wanted to add, at the least green onion and feta. It also needed, maybe salt, maybe some other spices. Someone mentioned it would be good with sesame - which made me think replacing some of the olive oil with sesame oil would be tasty . . . I doubt I'll make this again - because if I do, I'll end up doctoring it up, and making it into my regular pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this for the Recipe Group selection of 5/5/2012. This made a delicious cold salad which is something I love to prepare during the summer. The artichokes that I used had been marinated, and it may be that marinade that I felt didn’t work as well as I had hoped, but it was still very good. I agree with the others about adding salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Loved this light and refreshing side! I prepared for the Recipe Group pick of the week. I prepared as a cold salad, and used Marzetti's Balsamic Vinaigrette in leu of the vinegar and olive oil (out of balsamic!). I also added a few shakes of galic and onion powders, sea salt and white pepper. A great summer side for BBQ, I'll do this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group this week. I made a mini version, roughly 1/4 of the recipe. I had cooked orzo in my freezer, so I used that, and just eyeballed the other ingredients. I used white balsamic vinegar, because I was afraid my orzo would turn dark if I used regular balsamic. This was very good and we enjoyed it, but it definitely needs salt and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
this was very tasty, added pepper to taste and served cold with meat off the grill. I love spring and all the salads it has to offer. Next time I would coat the pasta with a little oil when warm then add the other ingredients and use less oil in the finished dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States