Orzo Delicioso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Simply delicious, and a pretty and colorful addition to the dinner plate. I left out the mushrooms and corn, but this is not a significant deviation from the intent of this recipe. Until the last minute, I was going to shy away from the jalapeno,thinking it had no place here. While it provided no heat (which comes from the seeds and membrane) it did just enough to enhance the flavor. Measuring the ingredients isn't necessary, and would take away from the simple joy of preparing this recipe if you did. I love herbs and spices, but I disagree with those who said this was bland and required the addition of herbs. What's important is the wine, the garlic, and the wonderful combination of colorful, fresh vegetables. These are simple, fresh flavors--not bland flavors that need doctoring. Perfect as written, this was also the perfect complement to the grilled chicken and patty pan squash we served with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This is incredible! If you don't like spice, leave the jalapenos out and you will not miss out on the flavor. Try using squid instead of the orzo. Sounds strange... but it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This recipe makes a lot of food, so expect leftovers! It's also pretty bland, but perked up after I added a bit of rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I thought this was very good. It's a rather simple recipe in that it doesn't have many flavour add ins with herbs, etc. however, I think this recipe is a great side that will nicely complement many main attractions. The jalapenos add a nice kick and all of the wonderful veggies in there make it colourful and delicious. The white wine adds a subtle flavour that I definitely would not omit! Good job, ty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
DELICIOUS!!! I was looking for a recipe similar to one I had at a restaurant and this was amazing! I added 1/2 cup of fresh cream to make it more sauce-y I also substituted chorizo sausage for the hot peppers, and I served it over raviolis. I'm definately making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
WOW! My family love, love, loved this dish. Nice color and great flavor. We served it with broiled cod fillets. Wonderful dish! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
My sister-in-law brought this recipe as a dish to pass. I enjoyed it very much. I have always been a fan of orzo and this is a great way to serve it. I shared this recipe with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was a fantastic and very easy recipe to mae. It was sweet and flavorful. I left out the hots and added shrimp... perfect. I will definitely be maing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixsnails8me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Very good and good to look at too. Have been trying out different orzo recipes since discovering this little pasta. If it is too bland for some, they could add more jalapeno, but I like being able to taste the different ingredients, it's a fresh appealling summer salad. Goes great with grilled steak or chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Sorry - but this is not delicious at all. It was totally boring and unsavory. None of us could stomach more than one serving. What a waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States