Ornament Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This dough worked perfectly. We used cookie cutters. They turned out great, didn't puff up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I thought this was perfect. Very quick and easy. I didn't knead it for 10 minutes, my 2 year old didn't have the patience for that. Probably more like 5 minutes. I didn't need flour for rolling it out, I just rolled it on our counter top (granite) and it didn't stick at all. Before baking I used a straw to punch a hole in the top of each one. After cooking and cooling, I mixed glue with glitter and my daughter and I painted it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The thicker you roll these out, the more likely they are to puff. Roll them out thinly & you'll be thrilled with the results. We use this recipe to make wild bird treats for the winter solstice. Make the ornaments, spread them with peanut butter & put them stick-side down onto a plate of bird seed. We hang them from the trees on solstice for a tasty bird treat & a nice family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I think I may have needed to add a little more water to the dough because it was super pain to roll out... which I think I've read could be do to the weather here so I'm not counting that against the recipe. the kids had alot of fun painting them and they look really cute... Thanks for something fun to do with the kids..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I've been using this recipe for years. This is an excellent project for parents and kids to do together, and also to have mementos of their Christmases through the years. TIP: This is WONDERFUL to use for making handprints for Grandparents. Just make a large circle and have the kids do their handprints, bake as usual. (You might have to increase the baking time just a bit.) For those of you who make handprints like me, let the printed dough sit out for about an hour before baking. The dough dries out and it's whiter when baked, which makes a great way for the paint/markers to pop on the handprint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was the first time I ever attempted dough ornaments. I am glad I tried this recipe. I halved the ingredients and added a bunch of cinnamon and nutmeg. Between myself, my daughter and my hubby we made 24 ornaments. Most were ready at 30 minutes, some of the larger ones needed about 10 minutes more. This will definetly be a new family traditon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
turned out great. Great chrstmas present
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Didn't care for this recipe. I placed the dough in the oven for the specified time and it did not harden like I would have expected. I tried again the next day at an even longer cook time and it still did not harden enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagåtña, Hagåtña, Guam
Living In: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
these were some of the easiest doughs i made. it also was one of the BEST. also these took a little longer to cook than i intended. but these were pretty good for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABSKITCHEN
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My college-aged daughter and I had so much fun making these ornaments. The dough is really nice to work with. I'm not sure where the submitter got 12 as the number of ornaments - we made a variety of sizes, from about 1" all the way up to 6" and got exactly 40 ornaments. We needed more than 30 mins. for them to dry in the oven, more like an hour. We painted with acrylic paints. The painting took all day. I purchased a "feather tree" and displayed them on there. We plan to make them again next year and give them away as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States