Ornament Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Followed the instructions perfectly, but it was way too difficult to roll out. I tried even adding in some additional water and 1 tbsp. of oil like some suggested, but it still was like a rock. I finally got some rolled out with my kids and cut out few ornaments. They looked awful when they came out of the oen and were cracked everywhere. They had a blast doing it, but I would so not recommend this as a recipe for pretty ornaments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Loved this ornament dough recipe, very easy and made dough that was great to work with and very low maintenance! Can't wait to spray them and give them as gifts! I made a snoman, gingerbread man/girl, star, foot, wreath, dog bone, stocking, etc. Painted them with acrylic paint then did the embelishments in puffy paint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Although I listened to the reviews and rolled this very thin, I still had a problem with the dough puffing up on some of my ornaments. The dough was also a little dry once it was mixed, so I added just a touch more water than what it called for. Also, no matter how slow I tried to roll, or "stretch" the dough, I could not get a smooth finish. This wasn't a big deal for me, the kids just used the recipe to make their own little ornaments, didn't need for anything too pretty. Worked good for the most part, the kids had fun, so that's all that really matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frauline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The dough was perfect... But make sure you roll it out thinly and bake under 300. Check them often, flip them often. It took my about an hour for the first batch, and less after I rolled them thinner. They do puff up, but it isn't a big deal. They keep their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
What a great craft for after thanksgiving day feast! This is our new thanksgiving day tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Perfect for the lil ones.thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I've never made ornaments from dough before and this was great. I questioned the salt content but I guess it works. The only negative thing I would say was my ornaments puffed up in the baking process even after I let them sit out on the counter for about 30-45 minutes prior to baking and the dough has hard to knead on a floored surface, so I just placed the whole batch into a plastic ziploc bag and grabbed out a small porton at a time and kneaded in my hand before rolling out on a floured surface. This made it work for me and the dough didn't dry out in that process before cutting them out. But I guess the end results is what's important. The kids and I had fun decorating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Dont roll out too thick or it wont bake well. It was great, the kids loved it, but my husband and I were still enjoying it long after the kids were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine Corn
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Great recipe! easy cheap and kid friendly! time is key, you must work quickly, I did add 1 TBSP of vegetable oil to add working time, since kids roll slowly :). As one reviewer stated, roll slowly and roll them thin as well, under 1/4 inch is best. I did add 20 minutes extra cooking time as mine were rolled at about 1/4 inch. I did not poke holes in them, Instead I let the kiddos glue metal ornament hangers to the backs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made these as written, and they turned out pretty well. I rolled out to somewhere between 1/4-1/8 inch thick, and some still puffed up a bit, so I think next time I'll make sure to roll out to only about 1/8 in thick. I recommend spraying with polyurethane before painting, as well as after - I painted right on the surface of the dough, let dry overnight, and the next morning the paint was completely crackled all over - the moisture of the paint was sucked up by the ornaments. It still works for us (gives it an aged look), but if you want to avoid this spray a moisture-locking layer before painting. GIFT IDEA: I cut out gingerbread men shapes with my 4 year old son, and he painted them himself to give to his cousins. We'll be tying them onto the packaging of their "real" gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States