Original Steak Tartare Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Miss Fuzzy
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
1. Rather than grinding, I prefer to start with a whole fresh filet and separate the meat from the fascia by scraping it with the edge of a sharp knife. There is no comparison with respect to texture, presentation and flavour. 2. I prefer Pikapeppa Sauce or Cholula to Tabasco; both have superior flavour and complexity. For a nicer presentation a food mold can be used. 3. Adding brandy is an excellent idea, especially something interesting like Calvados. 4. The quality and freshness of the ingredients cannot be overemphasized. 5. The basic recipe can then be taken in a number of flavour and presentation directions with garnishes and condiments. 6. Scallions, minced cucumber, bell pepper (any colour), capers, duxelles, chopped hard boiled egg (if you are leery about using raw eggs), etc. can be served on the side. 7. An assortment of red, green and black cornichons (peppercorns) can add colour to the presentation. 8. Greek Tzatziki (a mild dressing of yogurt and cucumber), or a light horseradish sauce will add additional zest if desired. 9. As with Sushi, however, be careful not to overpower the basic delicate flavour of this dish. 10. Flatbread, lightly oiled and pan-fried, makes a nice alternative to the usual toast points or crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Fuzzy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
If you love steak Tartare and cannot not find it in restaurants any more, this is the answer. Eggs and beef do have to be fresh. I buy the freshed beef and have the butcher grind it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
OK kids....real tartare has ancovies & worchestershire sauce...add them for the "adult" version and you will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Romberger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
This is a once in a blue moon treat for my hubby and I. I'm not a meat eater, but this is the exception. I will only buy the meat from our German butcher and have him grind it. There were a couple of ingredients in this recipe that I normally don't use and I must say that they were nice additions. I don't care for egg in this so I skipped it and added finely minced onion. We served this on buttered Russian rye bread. Most German restaurants and Oktoberfests will no longer serve this, so it's nice to be able to make it at home. Delicious and thanks, Itsi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Not sure where Steak Tartare originated, but what I do remember is how much I enjoyed it at the Russian Tea Room and Buzzy O'Keefe's Grand Central Cafe when I worked in midtown Manhattan back in the 70's. To my recollection, neither recipe included brandy. But both had tabasco, a couple of anchovies and capers....which I include whenever I make it. Even back then ordering raw beef with raw egg raised eyebrows, but it was delicious, especially with a cut of beef that had some marbelling (but not too much). I know some think you should stay away from supermarket eggs, but I think the whole raw egg fear is overkill. Yeah, you're taking risks, but you're also taking risks with raw beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I've been looking for a recipe for Beef Tartare. This is excellent. Use ONLY ground tenderloin and make sure it is VERY fresh. You are risking illness with eggs, but if they are fresh the chances are pretty remote. This is delicious and 100% authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
My husband made X rated noises while eating this, so I'll have to assume it was awesome, as I'm way too much of a ninny to try it. I'm making it again for him on father's day so long as I can get some more yard eggs (don't trust grocery store eggs for this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Just outstanding! I will write-out and post the recipie on my kitchen wall, till I "own" the formula. I scaled back to a single, carnivore's meal. Except; no hot pepper, and I drank the brandy. Oh! I ground lean, well trimmed 1" round steak, thru a 3/16 grinder screen. The rest was saved for beef stew. I raise and butcher my own Holstien Beef. The tenderloins were cut as Porterhouse Steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States