Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Pan Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These are great bar cookies. The consistency is perfect-- dense, chewy, soft. I made a few adaptations: I added crumbled snickers bars and baked for 30-35 minutes in a 13x9" glass baking dish. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Great taste but way too much butter. It was very gooey and my family only ate the edges. I will try using only 1/2 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These were very good. I used about half mini and half white. They are a nice finishing touch as a dessert or a snack w/o being too over the top. The directions mentioned nuts although the ingredients do not list them, but I liked the suggestion so I added in some pecan meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
A little too greasy at the bottom of the pan for my liking - but otherwise excellent. Next time I will add a cup of oats to see if that soaks up a little of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
These are great! I LOVE the Nestle Toll House chocolate chip cookies better than any other brand. This is my first time making the bar version and it worked pretty well. The only thing is I used a 9x13in pan for a thicker cookie which drastically increased the cooking time to at least 40 minutes. Also JDLAMBERT is right...the secret is all in the butter. While making the drop cookie version I once melted the butter too much (it was liquid) and the cookies turned out very spongy and cake-like. Couldn't figure out why until it kept happening every time I made the cookies. If you melt the butter it doesn't cream well with the sugar. You want to achieve a fluffy, airy texture like scrambled eggs when you beat the butter and sugar together. So now what I do is get the butter out first thing and set it on the preheating oven to soften a bit (don't use the microwave). Usually it is still cold by the time I'm ready to use it but using a solid stick of cold butter is better than using liquified butter because you can't achieve the same scrambled egg consistency with butter that is too soft or melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
wonderful and easy to make. I started baking these one day and discovered I did not have chopped nuts. I had a package of dried cherries on hand and used those instead. Worked great. Now, when I bake these I use either chopped nuts or the dried cherries. Both are big hits with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I've been making these forever! They are so easy to whip together at a moments notice! I do 1/2 semi sweet and 1/2 milk chocolate chips. They never last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very delicious. They were a huge hit at my potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexiaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
These were great! Everyone loved them! I used dark brown sugar so they would be chewy. I cooked at the 375 degrees as in recipe, but for only 15 mins. Any longer and I would have burned them, might just be my oven but next time I will bake at 325 or 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
The perfect combination of sweet and salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States