Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
The cookies tasted ok but looked awful and were paper thin. I definitely think this recipe needs to be revisited with some of the suggestions from other reviews. The tip about chilling the batter before baking might make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
All i did different with this recipe was add and extra 1/2 cup flour and used unsalted butter, alos placed batter in fridge for 20 mins. They are perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Kalpin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great chocolate chip cookies, the only change I made was I used one cup of butter flavored shorting instead of butter. Everyone in my family loves these cookies so I am making them all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I make it for special occasions, i don't have a conventional oven, so I make them as pan cookies and they kind of end up like brownies. delicious! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I have been using this recipe since I learned how to turn on the oven! The only change I make is I use Crisco instead of butter. Butter-flavored Crisco is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
These are the cookies I grew up on. My mother made cookies once a week. She was known for her cookies. The secret to the best cookies ever is to double the Receipe except after doubling the flour round up to 5 cups of flour and only add the chocolate chips of one receipe. They come out fluff and a little more cakey. They are by far the best cookies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My Nana was an experienced baker. And this was the only chocolate chip cookie recipe she would ever use. She said they were the best. Make sure your butter (use real butter) and eggs are at room temperature. Double the vanilla and chill for at least an hour. And let them rest on the cookie sheet after baking until they firm up. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe gets so maligned and parodied ... But it is a great recipe. To get really soft, yet done/well-baked chewy delicious cookies, use this trick I learned years ago: Add in at least 1/2 cup more flour st the end of mixing (more if you can - up to a cup. Warning: dough will get stiff.) I know it sounds counter-intuitive, but the extra flour makes for very soft, lofty wonderful cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Add a half to threefourths cup more flour & your flatness problem is solved. I add oats instead of the nuts. You can get away with less chips if you use minis, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
According to my fiancée, this is the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States