Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
I have made this recipe four times now (some for gifts, some not) as I have taken into consideration other reviewers suggestions - some good, some not so good :). The good - yes indeed the suggested amount of whiskey makes it very strong!! I use 7oz of whiskey and it is almost perfect. Another good - reduce the almond flavouring by half - perfect! Not so good - my next batch will be made with 1 cup of heavy cream as I will never again substitute half and half or even half heavy cream with half milk. This recipe truly needs the total amount of heavy cream (whipping cream for us Canadians). The cream is a splurge but go for it! Lastly, I have also made a batch substituting the almond for coconut extract and this is also yum! A bit more like Baileys. My next batch I will boost the coffee by just a bit - not much, just a bit! You can always add, but never take away :). Although I have been doctoring this recipe, it is excellent and far superior to a lot of other Baileys recipes! It is all about personal preference. Regardless, this is a winner! Don't hesitate to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
710 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I always hate when people say they like a recipe--and then tell you how they totally changed it. But I guess it's possible to be a good cook _and_ a total hypocrite. So...I loved it! And instead of 1 cup of cream, I used 1/2 cup of cream and 1/2 cup of milk; I found it a little too thick with straight cream. I left out the almond extract (simply because I'm not a big fan) and increased the vanilla a little bit. I also reduced the whiskey by a third, so you should spike to taste. There's no need to use a blender; I just stirred it with a long-handled whisk and it stayed mixed just fine. I have never had to take home any of this drink after a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
absolutely amazing. i made many batches and handed them out as christmas gifts. EVERYONE really got excited about this and demanded the recipe. i heated 1/4 cup skim milk over medium heat and dissolved the coffee, then added about 25 milk chocolate chips (in place of the syrup) and melted them until the mixture was smooth. i then removed it from the heat and combined the other ingredients in a large bowl (i cut the cream and whiskey down to 3/4 cup and the almond down to 1/2 tsp.) then i gradually whisked in the chocolate mixture. i tried this recipe with several kinds of whiskey, and i discovered that canadian whiskeys produce a more desirable flavor. this is a very quick and easy recipe; a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I've made this three times: the first time, I followed the recipe to the letter. It was good, but I thought it was too much whiskey and too much almond flavoring. The second time I cut the whiskey to 1 cup, and the almond flavoring to just under 1/4 tsp. That was much better. The third time, I didn't have any heavy cream, so I just added 1 cup of skim milk, and I think it was the best batch yet. The heavy cream makes it really thick, almost like a milkshake. Skim milk of course thins it, but you get the same amount of creaminess (I think) and less calories. This stuff is best after it's been in the refrigerator overnight--the flavors are fully blended. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This recipe is SO good and SOO incredibly easy!! The only thing I changed was to use half and half. Next time though I think I'll only use 1 half of a teaspoon of almond extract- the almond flavor is pretty stong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Tastes like Baileys!!!! Yummy. We had someone give this to us for Christmas and included the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Nobody has mentioned the fact that when cream & whiskey are mixed, the cream separates. I lost about 1/3 of my recipe having to strain it off. Does anyone have any ideas how to overcome this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Very enjoyable and was fun to make for gift-giving! I did find it way too strong for my taste(and my SO, too), so I ended up doubling the recipe to reduce the whiskey. Next time, I would also follow some other suggestions and use half and half instead of heavy cream. It gets really thick after refrigerating. Otherwise, I'm having some right now with my coffee...Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkatano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This is the BEST! The only changes I made were I used half and half instead of the heavy cream, and omitted the almond extract. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I've been making this Irish Cream for 2 years now and give them out as gifts in mass quantities. (48-60 bottles per Christmas). It has gotten tremendous raves from all. While I am not a big tweaker of recipes, I have a few tiny changes that seem to have been a hit. First of all, I use only Jameson Irish Whiskey.. the most important ingredient. I use a cup and a half. As for the extracts, I only us the real stuff, not imitation. A full teaspoon of vanilla and no more than 3/4th of the almond. For the sweetened condensed milk, only carnation will give the best results. The mix is very thick, and I usually also add an ounce of two or half and half, but the full cup of heavy cream is absolutely necessary. Lastly, I am generous with the chocolate syrup. 2 generous tablespoons. For the coffee, folgers decaf. (I know, theres plenty of caffeine already in this drink, but the folgers decaff gives a nicer overall flavor) These ingredients make this an expensive drink, but you will find that most of the people who taste it will tell you its the absolute best irish cream they ever had!! (Note, other recipes call for eggs in the mix.. which is totally not necessary) Good luck, I promise you will find this the best recipe you can find for genuine irish cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States