Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Thank You! Have just made the most fantastic Irish Cream from your recipe. Followed it carefully! Tastes better than The Irish Cream I´ve bought until today. This will be my Irish Cream as of now! Evakristina frpm Sweden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is wonderful! I made several bottles to give as gifts. I did use a good Irish Whiskey. I'll be making this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Wow!! So easy and so delicious!! I did find it a little heavy on the almond flavour. Next time I will likely only use half a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticatedGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I used Jameson, reduced the whisky to 1 cup plus a splash, used 2/3 heavy cream and 1/3 whole milk, a shy tsp Starbucks instant coffee, and omitted the almond extract. I did a side by side taste test with some Bailey's, and this recipe has the same flavor but but yet is altogether better because of the real dairy and good whisky. I am now ruined for Bailey's because this is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Delish but a little thick. I had to add a little low fat milk to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
DON'T add the almond extract--it RUINS it!! Without it it's five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLFFOX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I'm going to sum it up by saying, just like with anything you make in your kitchen (or in this case bar), you should tailor it to suit your preferences. To make this recipe PERFECT TO YOU, start with 3/4 can of condensed milk, 1 cup of whisk(e)y, half the chocolate, half the coffee and half the almond extract. Taste and add more to suit to your liking. Remember, YOU CAN ALWAYS ADD MORE BUT CAN'T TAKE AWAY. Personally, I used all the condensed milk, 1 cup whiskey, more coffee granules than called for (taste can vary by brand, too), half the chocolate syrup, and all of the almond extract, plus a little splash of 2% milk. I didn't bother with the blender, just used my large whisk and stirred it up right in the pitcher. Let's just say the recipe submitter would make a VERY popular bartender with the full 1 2/3 cups of whiskey! But hey, maybe I'm a lightweight ;) Thanks for the GREAT suit-to-one's-liking recipe! And for those who mentioned that it doesn't taste like Bailey's: like I said this recipe is perfect to alter HOWEVER YOU LIKE! Or just go buy the darn bottle of Bailey's already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
When I first made this, I couldn't find almond extract so I didn't use it. I also used light cream instead of heavy cream and a small amount of brewed coffee instead of instant. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! It tasted very much like Baileys except the real cream was far more indulgent (the real Baileys does not have cream otherwise it wouldn't be sitting out on an unrefrigerated liquor store shelf with no expiration date). The cost though is calories. The real problem is the sweetened condensed milk (that little can has 1,300 calories). Even 1 cup of the heavy cream only adds 800 calories. Bottom line, you are looking at about 500 calories per each 5 oz serving in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Based on all the reviews I came up with: 1 cup half and half, 1 can of sweetened condensed milk, 1 cup of Irish Whiskey, 1 teaspoon instant coffee, 2 tablespoons chocolate syrup and 2 teaspoon vanilla. Perfect. So glad I swapped out the heavy cream for 1/2 and 1/2. The heavy cream would have been to thick for my liking. And I don't like almond extract so I just doubled the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I just tried this recipe last night and the only thing I did differently was use Canadian Whiskey as that was what I happen to have on hand. That being said, the end result tasted nothing like any Irish Cream that I've ever had. Side by side this recipe tasted totally disgusting actually. I absolutely love Irish Cream so needless to say I was very disappointed. What a waste of money!!! So unless it was all due to the type of whiskey I used, if you have your hopes up that it will taste as good as the real thing I wouldn't waste my money if I were you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States