Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
LOVE this! Thanks so much for this recipe. Just made this for Christmas gifts! And in this season celebrating love and plenty, I used 2 pints whipping cream/heavy cream, one 750 ml bottle of "good" Irish Whiskey (Jamesons), 6 cans sweetened condensed milk and the called for amounts of coffee, chocolate syrup and real vanilla (not artificial). I omitted the almond extract which I have a personal dislike for - If a recipe calls for almond flavoring, I use the real thing somehow. Made this in my blender in batches, doubling it each time. The above amounts of liquid will fill 11 and a half Ball/Kerr pint canning jars. I printed out a pretty label "Homemade for you from ____" and put a sticky bow on the lid. Refrigerating the jars in the box they came in until I deliver them individually. I'm keeping the half jar for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was perfect. Very rich and tasty. Next year I will make a few bottles and give as gifts! Thank you for sharing this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
5 stars aren't NEARLY enough! I loved the fact that:"will keep 2 months in the refrigerator". HA!! If you don't want to splurge on real Irish whiskey, just use any bourbon or blended whiskey you have on hand. Divine stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
great recipe.. I added extra whiskey it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montour Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I do a lot of baking and home-made gifts. Last year I was looking into the perfect Irish Cream to make and came across this recipe. I love it, very easy to follow. The taste is wonderful and my friends and family that I gave this to were also very happy with it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I think this is great! It's a little to sweet for my taste so I think the next time I make it I will use only half the sweetened condensed milk. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I did as the past reviewers said and made 2 changes: decreased the whiskey to 1 cup and (& I'm a hearty drinker) and used half and half instead of cream. The heavy cream made it too thick! More like an egg nog. I had 5 people try both w/ half and half and heavy cream... all liked the half and half better.(still thick enough)... the extra day in the fridge really melded the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
If I had used the recommended amount of whiskey, I doubt this would even have been drinkable. I used 3/4 cup of whiskey and still need to add an extra amount of the other ingredients (half the original amount). The result was good, but more like a mudslide than baileys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I have had homemade Irish cream before and it was wonderful. I made the recipe exactly as written. It was undrinkable and nothing like Baileys. I should have read the reviews, I would have realized that just about everyone who gave it 5 stars changed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Excellent! The condensed milk overpowered the other flavors at first but after a night in the fridge everything blended. Tastes just like it's supposed to! The texture is far creamier than the original so when we make it again we will use half and half. I used homemade vanilla extract, homemade chocolate syrup and homemade sweetened condensed milk in this with excellent results. Very frugal when compared to Bailey's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States