Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Its truly the best recipe. Don't tinker around with it. It needs heavy cream not half and half. If you think its too strong, well that's what Irish Cream Liqueur is. If your using it in coffee use less. If you don't want it straight as a shooter, have it over ice. Last year I came across Carnation Caramel condensed milk. OMG did that make it good. Different but still good. Just love this, easy to make and a pleasure to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marguerite Diver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is delicious! I compared this to the generic Irish Cream I buy and realized how many flavors there are in this recipe; the generic stuff just tastes like creamy, cheap liquor! After reading the reviews, I chose to use 1/2 & 1/2, which I think the consistency is perfect. I also melted down a mixture of choc & mint choc chips to sub for choc syrup; the mint subtly comes through & I really like the added flavor. I left the whiskey measurement as I LOVE whiskey, and after sitting for a week the whiskey flavor blends nicely into the rest. Definitely a winner recipe!!!! Thank-You so much. (Also, a doubled recipe makes short of a 1.75 bottle)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I can't tell you how disappointed I am by this recipe! I have tried it twice now; once, with coffee cream to try and save calories (ha! you need to realize there is nothing at all good for you about Irish Cream, so you may as well embrace the fat content), and the second with full fat whipping cream (or heavy cream as you call it in the US). The lighter version tasted like melted cheap chocolate ice cream - not terrible but watery and nothing like Bailey's. The full cream version just left the fat floating to the top like lumpy chocolate whip cream and as a result what was left was even thinner than the first after I had skimmed it. The only change I made was to skip the almond flavor which I dislike and use a tablespoon of expresso instead of instant coffee. I used a blender as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I've been making this for years with the same changes as other reviewers (cutting down the amount of whiskey and almond extract). Last time I made it, I used almond milk (only 30 calories per cup) instead of cream or half and half, and it was still very good - not as rich, obviously, but think of all the fat and calories saved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 071768
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 071768

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made it for the first time two weeks ago. Almost gone. Everyone loves it. I left out the almond extract but only cause I'm not a fan of almond flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I'm pretty sure the "original" recipe for Irish cream didn't involve instant coffee, chocolate syrup or condensed milk. I'm not knocking the outcome of this recipe simply the title. If you'd like to learn the actual recipe a bartender would've used a century ago you can check it out here: http://cookplateshoot.com/2014/12/03/irish-cream-posset/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade Hammond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Yum...yum...yum! So easy and so good! I "tweaked" mine a bit according to other's suggestions...I used 1¼ cups of Jameson, 1¾ cups of half-n-half, fat-free sweet/condensed milk and 1½ tsp. of pure vanilla extract and left the almond flavoring out. I used the same amount of chocolate and instant coffee as what the original recipe called for. Very good recipe...I will be making this every year for gifts to hand out as well as for myself to enjoy. Thank you for submitting this, Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Oh my! I'm sitting here sipping this sinful thing trying hard not to chug it. I'm giving it 5 stars even tho I had to change it. I used half heavy cream and the rest was half and half. Only had 1-1/4 cups of Irish whiskey and used amarreto instead of almond extract. Also used a dark chocolate syrup and a decaf instant coffee. I added the instant coffee to the vanilla, amaretto and chocolate syrup and microwaved it for about 15 seconds to dissolve the coffee. Cooled it a bit then added to the blender with everything else. I might up the whiskey the next time. I know I will never buy the original again. I'm having another glass now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simon Watterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States