Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
great recipe.. I added extra whiskey it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montour Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I do a lot of baking and home-made gifts. Last year I was looking into the perfect Irish Cream to make and came across this recipe. I love it, very easy to follow. The taste is wonderful and my friends and family that I gave this to were also very happy with it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I think this is great! It's a little to sweet for my taste so I think the next time I make it I will use only half the sweetened condensed milk. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I did as the past reviewers said and made 2 changes: decreased the whiskey to 1 cup and (& I'm a hearty drinker) and used half and half instead of cream. The heavy cream made it too thick! More like an egg nog. I had 5 people try both w/ half and half and heavy cream... all liked the half and half better.(still thick enough)... the extra day in the fridge really melded the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Martens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
If I had used the recommended amount of whiskey, I doubt this would even have been drinkable. I used 3/4 cup of whiskey and still need to add an extra amount of the other ingredients (half the original amount). The result was good, but more like a mudslide than baileys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I have had homemade Irish cream before and it was wonderful. I made the recipe exactly as written. It was undrinkable and nothing like Baileys. I should have read the reviews, I would have realized that just about everyone who gave it 5 stars changed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Excellent! The condensed milk overpowered the other flavors at first but after a night in the fridge everything blended. Tastes just like it's supposed to! The texture is far creamier than the original so when we make it again we will use half and half. I used homemade vanilla extract, homemade chocolate syrup and homemade sweetened condensed milk in this with excellent results. Very frugal when compared to Bailey's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Way too much Almond flavor! I would cut it back to 1/2 tsp almond extract and maybe take down the vanilla a bit too. It was overwhelming. Also, the chocolate syrup was a little too heavy, try 1 tbs first and then add the 2nd if you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Yep. It's pretty great. Everyone loves it. I've made it three times now. First time followed the recipe to a tee, and it was yummy. Found Irish Whiskey to be too expensive (and I'm doing this to save money), so next time I used St. Remy's brandy. That was even better! This last time all I had was cheap vodka, so I used it and even that is delicious in this recipe. All in all a total win. My suggestion though is try it with brandy, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I've been making this Irish Cream for 2 years now and give them out as gifts in mass quantities. (48-60 bottles per Christmas). It has gotten tremendous raves from all. While I am not a big tweaker of recipes, I have a few tiny changes that seem to have been a hit. First of all, I use only Jameson Irish Whiskey.. the most important ingredient. I use a cup and a half. As for the extracts, I only us the real stuff, not imitation. A full teaspoon of vanilla and no more than 3/4th of the almond. For the sweetened condensed milk, only carnation will give the best results. The mix is very thick, and I usually also add an ounce of two or half and half, but the full cup of heavy cream is absolutely necessary. Lastly, I am generous with the chocolate syrup. 2 generous tablespoons. For the coffee, folgers decaf. (I know, theres plenty of caffeine already in this drink, but the folgers decaff gives a nicer overall flavor) These ingredients make this an expensive drink, but you will find that most of the people who taste it will tell you its the absolute best irish cream they ever had!! (Note, other recipes call for eggs in the mix.. which is totally not necessary) Good luck, I promise you will find this the best recipe you can find for genuine irish cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States