Original Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Don't be SILLY and try to make this less fattening or cheap, and then give it a low rating, LOL! If you are going to cheat on the liquor, use YOUR FAVORITE whiskey. And if you prefer a little different flavor, maybe wait to add the vanilla and almond extract, and take a shot of the unfinished mixture, and try adding things to that shot that YOU might like the taste of, and see what you like best in one little shot, before making a batch of it, and then coming here to complain. In my case, I happen to like Canadian Whiskey, ie Seagrams Crown Royal, so I used that for the whiskey... And then, instead of adding vanilla and almond extract, I put in DiSardonno Ameretto until I really liked the flavor instead! OH MY, was that ever delish!!! Trust me, it will go down SOOO smooth when its YOUR favorite flavors :) Try 3 spoonful's in your coffee! And put it into CLEAN bottles, keep it in the fridge, and remember to shake it up before pouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I printed this out in 2008 but just got around to trying it. WOW. I gave 2 bottles to the neighbors for Christmas & one said it was going in to her hot cocoa for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Its truly the best recipe. Don't tinker around with it. It needs heavy cream not half and half. If you think its too strong, well that's what Irish Cream Liqueur is. If your using it in coffee use less. If you don't want it straight as a shooter, have it over ice. Last year I came across Carnation Caramel condensed milk. OMG did that make it good. Different but still good. Just love this, easy to make and a pleasure to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marguerite Diver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is delicious! I compared this to the generic Irish Cream I buy and realized how many flavors there are in this recipe; the generic stuff just tastes like creamy, cheap liquor! After reading the reviews, I chose to use 1/2 & 1/2, which I think the consistency is perfect. I also melted down a mixture of choc & mint choc chips to sub for choc syrup; the mint subtly comes through & I really like the added flavor. I left the whiskey measurement as I LOVE whiskey, and after sitting for a week the whiskey flavor blends nicely into the rest. Definitely a winner recipe!!!! Thank-You so much. (Also, a doubled recipe makes short of a 1.75 bottle)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I can't tell you how disappointed I am by this recipe! I have tried it twice now; once, with coffee cream to try and save calories (ha! you need to realize there is nothing at all good for you about Irish Cream, so you may as well embrace the fat content), and the second with full fat whipping cream (or heavy cream as you call it in the US). The lighter version tasted like melted cheap chocolate ice cream - not terrible but watery and nothing like Bailey's. The full cream version just left the fat floating to the top like lumpy chocolate whip cream and as a result what was left was even thinner than the first after I had skimmed it. The only change I made was to skip the almond flavor which I dislike and use a tablespoon of expresso instead of instant coffee. I used a blender as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I've been making this for years with the same changes as other reviewers (cutting down the amount of whiskey and almond extract). Last time I made it, I used almond milk (only 30 calories per cup) instead of cream or half and half, and it was still very good - not as rich, obviously, but think of all the fat and calories saved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 071768
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 071768

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made it for the first time two weeks ago. Almost gone. Everyone loves it. I left out the almond extract but only cause I'm not a fan of almond flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I'm pretty sure the "original" recipe for Irish cream didn't involve instant coffee, chocolate syrup or condensed milk. I'm not knocking the outcome of this recipe simply the title. If you'd like to learn the actual recipe a bartender would've used a century ago you can check it out here: http://cookplateshoot.com/2014/12/03/irish-cream-posset/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade Hammond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Yum...yum...yum! So easy and so good! I "tweaked" mine a bit according to other's suggestions...I used 1¼ cups of Jameson, 1¾ cups of half-n-half, fat-free sweet/condensed milk and 1½ tsp. of pure vanilla extract and left the almond flavoring out. I used the same amount of chocolate and instant coffee as what the original recipe called for. Very good recipe...I will be making this every year for gifts to hand out as well as for myself to enjoy. Thank you for submitting this, Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States