Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Used 2pkgs Italian dressing mix, Sam Adams beer instead of water and the entire jar of pepperoncinis 1/2 way through the cooking. Toasted the Italian hoagie rolls, added the shreded beef and slices of Provolone then put under the broiler until the cheese melted. Great, easy recipe and will definately make again! Thank you Randi for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I've made this for my husband a few times (I am a vegetarian) and he LOVES it. He's used to eating the roast you cook in the crock pot for hours, and season through the day - and he said this is better. I am from Chicago and have seen/smelled a lot of Italian beef. This looks and smells just like the real stuff! This recipe stays on our FAVORITES - recipe made exactly according to the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I was skeptical how this would turn out, with the ingredients. Following other suggestions, (like using the crockpot) I also used a beef bullion cube and beer for the liquid. It was great and we'll be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is just excellent. Two Italian seasoning packets are plenty. Before serving, we then toast out buns with butter and garlic powder in the toaster oven. Then we add provolone and broil it until the cheese melts. After that.... Game-time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
really really tasty and I love anything that cooks away in the crock pot! This one will be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very good. The meat was tender and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I really liked this one. I asked my husband what he thought and he liked it but thinks it needs a few tweeks. He loves the French dip so he wants me to try this recipe with beer instead. I think I will reduce the number of Italian dressing mix packages to 2 as well. I also Salted, peppered and used some Garlic powder on the meat before I put it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was really good. The French bread is a MUST. Any kind of soft bread like a hamburger bun or a soft hoagie will just get soggy and turn to mush. French bread is perfect for sopping up all of that delicious juice and it doesn't turn to mush in your hands while you're trying to eat it. I followed the recipe but made the following changes. I added two packets of no-sodium beef bouillon to the first cup of water, and only two packets of Italian dressing. Halfway through cooking, I took the meat out and shredded it. Added another pack of no-sodium bouillon, about a half cup of water and half of a third Italian dressing packet. I kept sprinkling it to taste. I cooked it from 11am until around 7pm, occasionally stirring and checking the broth to make sure it was not overly salty. It was perfect! The bouillon adds a good richness to the broth. Also, I added the entire jar of peppers with their juice, but I pulled the stems off first. This was a hit, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I added grilled red pepper and mozzarella cheese on top. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States