Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I thought this was incredible! I did make a few adjustments to the original recipe. I used a three pound rump roast, only two packages (.67 oz each) of italian dressing mix and I put the entire jar and juices of the pepperoncini in with the roast from the get go. I cooked it on high in the crockpot for 4 hours and then on low for 4-5 hours. The meat just fell apart! It was absolutley incredible! I used french bread instead of buns, which I buttered and placed in a pan to brown. I put some juice into a small bowl to dip the sandwich in. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BloodyMaryMorning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I've tried this twice, once using the recommended ingredients, and once cutting the Italian mix to 1 oz and draining the pepperoncinis thoroughly before adding. I also used beer instead of water. The changes made a delicious Italian beef. The original recipe is far too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
We loved this recipe! Extremely easy. Changes for our tastes were: We like spicey foods so I added another half jar of pepperoncinis--juice and all. Added all peppers in half way thru the cooking process: after about 3-4 hours so the flavor soaked into beef. Used 2 instead of 3 dressing mixes (from the advice of others). Brushed the hoagies very lightly with olive oil, spinkled a bit of garlic powder & salt on them, toasted then added shredded meat and provolone & broiled until melted--(toasting the hoagies helped prevent them from getting too soggie when juice was poured over them) . Put the hoagies in a bowl, added pepperoncinis to taste and laddled the unbelievable great juice over it. Excellent!!! I did go to great lengths after the meat was done to pull it out and shred it to make sure all the fat was removed and this took a LONG time. But this is not necessary just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Really Good! I used all 3 of the Italian seasoning packets, which were .68 oz each, and it was perfect for us. I used a cup of beer instead of the water. I don't like real spicy food, so I added about 1/3 of the jar of peppers and a couple tablespoons of the juice. This was just right for our tastes- a little kick at the end, but mellow enough for the kids. Club rolls suited the beef perfectly. I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
WOW - so simple and so delicious! This has to be one of the easiest and tastiest crock pot recipes ever! What's great about it too is it's very inexpensive and makes a lot. I added about 2 tsp. of minced garlic from the jar and used only 2 (1 ounce) packed of Good Seasons Italian dressing mix. Instead of a whole cup of water I used about 1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar to cut heat from the peppers and to cover more of the roast. I also added two vidalia onions that I quarted and added half way through cooking. I cooked this on low for 8 hours and the smell was heavenly. We served this on toasted hoagie rolls with provolone cheese. Everyone loved it! Thanks Randi for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This recipe really rocks - it was so good that we made it twice in one week. 3 packs of dressing mix seems like a lot, but do yourself a favor and just follow the recipe - it turns out great. The 2nd time we made this, we did as some reviewers suggest and added the pepperoncini right at the beginning. It was not as good, so we will follow Randi's recipe as it is written going forward. Try it on top of baked potatoes too. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMILEY GUY
Living In: Estes Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
My mom found this recipie on here a couple of years ago. We do it a bit diffrently and have amazing results. In a crock pot place the roast cover with 1 pkg of Italian dressing mix 1cup beef broth and add the peppers juice and all. Cover and slow cook all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I used 2 packets of italian dressing seasoning and it came out strongly (but perfectly) flavored. 3 would have been an overkill! Made this for my husband and his friends. After it was done, I broiled the hoagie buns, topped with this beef, and then a slice of provolone, and then put it back under the broiler till it was bubbly and done. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Fantastic! I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers. I only used 2 packets of italian seasoning, and I used a 12 oz jar of peppers and put the peppers and juice in at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This recipe is very easy and it is absolutely delicious! I made this for my family and they asked me to make it again right away. The first time I made it, I used the beef in a meal along with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. This time I'm making the sandwiches with it. Thank you for this great recipe, it has become one of our family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States