Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This stuff is amazing! Instead of water I used 1 can of beef broth. I also only had 2 packages of italian seasoning so I added about 1/2 cup zesty italian dressing to it. Served it on rolls with swiss cheese. This will be made often! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Pretty good! While not my favorite Italian beef and not nearly as good as the stuff I can get locally (I live in Chicagoland, home of the original Italian beef), this is decent nonetheless. I like to use my slow cooker when I am planning to be gone all day. Because my hubs and I spent most of our day car shopping, this suited us perfectly. :) NOTE: I did not find this to be overly salty at all (and I used the full amount of seasoning called for). I pretty much followed Randi's directions to the letter with the exception of one minor substution - instead of water, I added a 12 oz. bottle of Fat Tire beer (to add a little more depth / flavor). NOTE: If you plan to top your sandwich with a few pepperonicini pepeprs, BE SURE TO REMOVE THE STEMS BEFORE ADDING TO YOUR SLOW COOKER! Served on toasted onion rolls with melted provolone cheese on top, these were not bad at all. I actually think I liked the leftovers better! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Randi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
2 packages of seasoning was plenty and even still a little salty, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe seemed so simple and used so many things I keep on hand that I just had to try it! I am so glad i did! I turned out perfectly even my picky 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lothian, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Excellent!!! (Yet, I do agree with others that 2 packs of italian dressing is enough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Really easy & very tasty. Subbed beef broth for the water and added 2 cloves of minced garlic. Served on toasted rolls with melted provolone. The boyfriend gobbled it up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Big hit with entire family! I used a rump toast and sliced prior to cooking so flavor could get through out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe! I didn't know what to expect with the pepperoncinis and Italian dressing, but the flavor was amazing. I followed the recipe exactly and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
So Yummy!! I have made this a few times using different cuts of beef (whatever I had in the freezer) and it turns out tasting great everytime. It is full of flavor and leftovers reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe that has garnered raves! Have made a few tweaks. I only add 2 packages of the Italian dressing mix and reserve the third, use beef broth in place of the water, and add 4 to 5 cloves of garlic before slow cooking. Once the beef is tender, I remove it from the slow cooker and shred it and mash the garlic cloves with it, adding enough of the cooking liquid and the reserved dry Italian dressing mix to taste (thus avoiding the "too salty" dilemma). I slice onions very thin and put in a shallow bowl with enough of the crock pot liquid to cover, put plastic over the top and nuke for 1-2 minutes (until tender) - great flavor! Melt provolone cheese on toasted rolls and serve with onions and pepperoncini - perfection! Thanks, Randi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States