Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I really liked this one. I asked my husband what he thought and he liked it but thinks it needs a few tweeks. He loves the French dip so he wants me to try this recipe with beer instead. I think I will reduce the number of Italian dressing mix packages to 2 as well. I also Salted, peppered and used some Garlic powder on the meat before I put it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was really good. The French bread is a MUST. Any kind of soft bread like a hamburger bun or a soft hoagie will just get soggy and turn to mush. French bread is perfect for sopping up all of that delicious juice and it doesn't turn to mush in your hands while you're trying to eat it. I followed the recipe but made the following changes. I added two packets of no-sodium beef bouillon to the first cup of water, and only two packets of Italian dressing. Halfway through cooking, I took the meat out and shredded it. Added another pack of no-sodium bouillon, about a half cup of water and half of a third Italian dressing packet. I kept sprinkling it to taste. I cooked it from 11am until around 7pm, occasionally stirring and checking the broth to make sure it was not overly salty. It was perfect! The bouillon adds a good richness to the broth. Also, I added the entire jar of peppers with their juice, but I pulled the stems off first. This was a hit, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I added grilled red pepper and mozzarella cheese on top. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Excellent idea to add Italian seasoning to this dish. However, I only used about 1 packet and that was plenty. I also drained my peppers when adding. This made popular and easy "football fare."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is by far the best Italian beef and the recipe I use. I do tweak it by adding very thinly sliced onion and several cloves of crushed garlic. I also add 1 1/2 cups of beef broth for lots of juicy goodness for the buns to soak up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Festie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Easy and delicious. I use half a jar of pepperoncinis and about 3 TBS of the juice at the beginning (so it is not too spicy for the kid), and only 2 packets of dressing. We like it juicy so I also add about 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar. It is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyshay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Easy to make. I use 1 1/2 cups water + 1 1/2 pkt's of dry Italian seasoning. I've made it several times, & that concentration of water/seasoning always had the best tasting turn-out in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tony Bennett
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
After the meat was done there seemed to be a lot of liquid left. I did double the recipe. So I poured that into a container and set it aside. I then dumped the jar of peppers liquid and all into the bottom of the crock pot, covered them with the meat, and turned the heat back on low for another hour. I'm glad I set the broth aside, as when I used some the next day to reheat the leftovers it was more like gravy, which wasn't what I was after. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Too spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Amazing! I made this for a party and it was gone before I could blink. What a hit! I added 1 cup of beef broth and a 1/2 stick of butter to make it more like a Mississippi Roast. You could use a packet of aus jus instead, but I prefer the broth. I also used a larger jar of pepperoncini as well. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States