Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
WOW - so simple and so delicious! This has to be one of the easiest and tastiest crock pot recipes ever! What's great about it too is it's very inexpensive and makes a lot. I added about 2 tsp. of minced garlic from the jar and used only 2 (1 ounce) packed of Good Seasons Italian dressing mix. Instead of a whole cup of water I used about 1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar to cut heat from the peppers and to cover more of the roast. I also added two vidalia onions that I quarted and added half way through cooking. I cooked this on low for 8 hours and the smell was heavenly. We served this on toasted hoagie rolls with provolone cheese. Everyone loved it! Thanks Randi for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I make this at least once a month. Instead of water I add in beef broth. I put everything in crockpot, set and forget it till I get home. I serve it on hoagie style rolls usually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I like to add some french onion soup while mine is cooking. It really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fillmore, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I've been making this recipe for YEARS, but have never added the peppers - need to try this version. I do make the change of using a can of chicken broth instead of water (tried beef, but we think the chicken adds a wonderful flavor). We serve on crusty rolls with provolone and use the broth for dipping like french dips. Makes great gravy for hot beef sandwiches also. My grown sons all make this and I tell them chuck roast is a must! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I have been making a recipe similar to this for years. Its awesome! I use banana peppers instead, as they are a favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
My family adores this recipe! I use a can of beer instead of water; only half a jar of the peppers; and fresh hoagie rolls. Mmmmm......this is good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBeezKneez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cadwell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
my husband really liked this. Best roast I ever made he said. I didn't shred the beef to go in a sandwich, I kept it as a roast with potatoes around it. It was tender and juicy with lots of flavor. Next time I make it I won't use quite as much pepper juice as I didn't know my own tastes for it. Great great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Very good recipe, but i only used two packages of italian seasoning, and put the whole jar of pepperoncini in including the juice.....turned out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I used the two pkgs. of dressing mix, The result was fantastic. My husband said this dish was a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BShannon
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
delicious and different, great for a large group. i added low sodium beef broth instead of water and ended up cooking it about 10-11 hrs, i was sleeping. definitely adding it to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BShannon
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States