Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made my version of this recipe for my Dad this weekend and he absolutely loved it. I use beer instead of water, and it gives the meat an extra level of flavor. Different types of beer can be used per your taste (i.e. stout gives it a more intense flavor than a 'light' beer). I also sliced 2 large vidalia onions and added to the pot along with chopped garlic. Served on toasted ciabatta rolls with swiss cheese. Unbelievably good, and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
We loved it - made it with 2 packages of dry seasoning, and slow cooked it (starting from frozen) for an hour on high, then on low for overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was GREAT! Followed the advice of other reviews - used only 2 packs of dressing mix and chicken broth in the place of water, added some minced garlic - turned out FANTASTIC!! Hubby loved it! YAY for great recipes!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Very good recipe... The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is that it's a bit too salty with 3pkgs of seasoning mix... 2 would have been fine. Thanks for a great crock pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bentleyboo29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Made this over the weekend didn't have beef so i used pork shoulder roast and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefjim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Brier, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was great! I made this with the following modifications: I used two packets of Italian dressing mix and I used a rump roast. I'll be making it again. Thanks for a super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITOMART

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This recipe was nice, very flavorful. I made this for my family and thought that reducing the peppers to two with no juice would omit the spicy side of this dish, but I was wrong. My kids could not eat this so I had to make another meal for them. I think this recipe is perfect for crowds. Would make again for a football party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Easy - delicious recipe- I used a 2 pound london broil -just because it was on sale- I didn't have Italian salad dressing so used Italian herb seasoning and followed the rest of the recipe - it came out just great - I'll try with the Italian salad dressing and see if it is better - can't see how but maybe. Thanks much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
My family has been making this for 40 years. We use bottled Italian dressing now so we cut out the dry and water. It’s fantastic! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Yum! Thanks for sharing!!! I too cut back on the amount of Italian dressing mix and only used half the jar of pepperoncini peppers. It turned out very good, and my husband who likes milder foods will love it while I would prefer it just a little more spicy. Next time I will follow the ingredients more closely to the recipe. Either way it's an excellent recipe - just depends on what you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States