Original Homemade Italian Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I'm really sorry, but this was extremely salty. It smelled wonderful cooking. But after we out it on our buns....couldn't even eat it. Way way too salty. Sorry won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Easy awesome recipe! My husband is an executive chef, which means I do all the cooking at home, raved and raved about this recipe. I used the 3 packs of dressing mix but my store doesn't sell the pepperonici peppers so I subbed with banana pepper rings (the hot ones) and put it all in together. Thanks for sharing, we will be having it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Used 2pkgs Italian dressing mix, Sam Adams beer instead of water and the entire jar of pepperoncinis 1/2 way through the cooking. Toasted the Italian hoagie rolls, added the shreded beef and slices of Provolone then put under the broiler until the cheese melted. Great, easy recipe and will definately make again! Thank you Randi for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I've made this for my husband a few times (I am a vegetarian) and he LOVES it. He's used to eating the roast you cook in the crock pot for hours, and season through the day - and he said this is better. I am from Chicago and have seen/smelled a lot of Italian beef. This looks and smells just like the real stuff! This recipe stays on our FAVORITES - recipe made exactly according to the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I was skeptical how this would turn out, with the ingredients. Following other suggestions, (like using the crockpot) I also used a beef bullion cube and beer for the liquid. It was great and we'll be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is just excellent. Two Italian seasoning packets are plenty. Before serving, we then toast out buns with butter and garlic powder in the toaster oven. Then we add provolone and broil it until the cheese melts. After that.... Game-time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
really really tasty and I love anything that cooks away in the crock pot! This one will be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very good. The meat was tender and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I really liked this one. I asked my husband what he thought and he liked it but thinks it needs a few tweeks. He loves the French dip so he wants me to try this recipe with beer instead. I think I will reduce the number of Italian dressing mix packages to 2 as well. I also Salted, peppered and used some Garlic powder on the meat before I put it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States