Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I am honored to be able to be the first to rate this recipe. Who hasn't made, eaten and loved Chex Mix? Oh the memories of making this with various beloved family members now gone; and the new memories being made of making this with our children. Chex Mix is an American staple, because it is yummy and addicting! Thank you Chex :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Yum! The classic chex mix - can't get any better! This recipe can be modified in so many ways and it still tastes delicious :) I used club snack sticks broken up instead of bagel chips and used goldfish brand pretzels - just the right size! Also, couldn't find wheat chex at my local grocery store so I just adjusted the others to make up for the loss. Again, yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is a great recipe. Easy and not too fattening. I, too, couldn't find Wheat Chex, so I just added more of the Corn and Rice (they taste better anyway).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 221BBAKERSTREET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is a killer recipe, way better than buying the pre-made stuff in the stores!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I tried the recipe exactly as it was on the box and was not impressed. It seems like it needs alot of tweaking to make it good. It's a good place to start, though. I'm just not a big fan Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This Always A Excellent Snack to Munch at Christmas Time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I was a little nervous about making this in the microwave, as opposed to the traditional oven method, but it turned out great and saved time, which I LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Fantastic for my first try! I will definitely make this again, but next time I'll make more of the spice mix and pour it over the top after mixing all the cereals, pretzels, etc. together. I think it will help it to mix in better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I used Crispix instead of Chex (only one box needed to get corn & rice). Tried this in the microwave and next time I will distribute seasoning more evenly to avoid scorching saturated pieces - also stir more often. Traditional oven method still best if time allows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States