Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was fun to make! I followed Grampnana's recipe tweaks and got the results I was after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is a holiday favorite at our house. Firstly, I have never tried the microwave for this, but 250º for ohe hour, stirring every 15 mins is the preferred method for me. Also, I recommend Lawry's seasoned salt for this recipe. I've tried a generic brand and it just wasn't nearly as good. Also, instead of the bagel chips, I use baby Pepperidge Farm Goldfish crackers, I've also used Cheerios instead of the bagel chips. Treat your family to a delicious, traditional snack at the holidays, or anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
just made this again for the umpteenth time. BUT....never in the microwave, always slow baked in a 275 oven stirring about every 10 -15 minutes for an hour. Also, I up the butter to a full cube and am very generous with my spices. Can't ever find the rye chips or bagel chips so I always use the goldfish crackers and sesame stick crackers. This year I did find a corn chip with flax seed and love that addition too. 4 stars for the micro directions, 5 for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Yummy! We don't have Chex Mix in Germany so I used this recipe to duplicate one of my favorite snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I make this every year during the holidays! However, I double all of the seasonings and bake it at 200 degrees for one hour stirring every 15 minutes. I add some sort of cheese crackers and once cooled I add chocolate m&m's to add a little sweetness! It's always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I can't believe I've been eating this for over 50 years!! Still good as ever and with some of the new flavors in chips, do dads, and pretzels the combination are endless. This time I added honey/mustard pretzels and left the bagel chips out, added 1/2t of celery salt, and a couple of extra tablespoons of butter and Worcestershire sauce. Taste great and I think it will go over good at tonight's Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
YOU HAVE TO BAKE IT FOR THE BEST RESULTS! SKIP THE MICROWAVE!!! If you have never had homemade Chex mix, you are missing out! It is completely different from that bland stuff that comes pre-packaged. However, as a lover of salt and butter, I usually DOUBLE the sauce, add more Chex and pretzels, and use 8 tbsp of butter. Mmmm. Tastes like Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I love Chex Mix, but I don't eat it anymore because of the BHT found in Chex cereals. So I used some organic multigrain "Chex" instead. I didn't have any onion powder so I just used dried minced onion instead. Also, we had no bagel chips so I just left them out. I baked the mix at 250 degrees for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes, instead of using the microwave. Though not as good as the Chex Mix I remember, using the organic "Chex" still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Good. I recommend cooking it in the oven rather than the microwave (as other reviewers suggest).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
i ? chexmix!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakeluvr

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States