Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I followed directions and ended up with burnt bits and mushy pieces. I will not cook in microwave again. Had to bake it anyway, so might as well stick with that. All other ingredients are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I have been making this for years. I do, however, reduce the amounts of the three cereals and increase the amounts of nuts, pretzels, and bagel chips. I didn't have the bagel chips this time, so I used little cheese crackers. And I always add sesame sticks to mine. This is a great recipe that makes a big batch, and freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kouts, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I doubled the seasonings and it was really good. Too bland if you didnt AND I baked it in the over. Makes it wayyyyyyy better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
So disappointed. I wanted to surprise my husband with this special snack he enjoyed as a kid from his Grammie thinking Original Chex meant just that! Followed recipe to the tee....BLAND. Then read reviews.....even after doubling the spices w/o extra butter and using oven method....just NOT the same. Next time I will read reviews 1st before taking the leap of faith in a trusted recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I give the original recipe 3 stars because its a good starting point but just too bland. I like to use 8 tablespoons of butter instead of 6 and add extra seasonings. I also used substitute half of the garlic powder for garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZEEDAZEE02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Thought I would give it a try in the Micro since I have never made it before.. it was bland too.. not enough seasoning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Been making Chex mix for years during the holidays. It's a great snack for everyone. I also leave out the wheat chex, don't care for them and often add parmesan twists or other type crackers, etc. Lots of options you can add/omit with this recipe. Also, I always bake mine in the oven, it's so much better that way. I don't see how the micro way could taste good at all or come out crispy like it should be. Double or even triple the seasoning/butter! as is it comes out way too bland! I also add a touch of hot sauce and cayenne pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I would never use the microwave. Bake for one hour at 350 and stir every 15 mins. Comes out more crispy. I use Cherrios instead of wheat chex and skip the bagel bites. Sometimes add some Tabasco for some heat. I've been eating this for 50 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I added celery salt and hot pepper sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States