Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kouts, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I doubled the seasonings and it was really good. Too bland if you didnt AND I baked it in the over. Makes it wayyyyyyy better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
So disappointed. I wanted to surprise my husband with this special snack he enjoyed as a kid from his Grammie thinking Original Chex meant just that! Followed recipe to the tee....BLAND. Then read reviews.....even after doubling the spices w/o extra butter and using oven method....just NOT the same. Next time I will read reviews 1st before taking the leap of faith in a trusted recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I give the original recipe 3 stars because its a good starting point but just too bland. I like to use 8 tablespoons of butter instead of 6 and add extra seasonings. I also used substitute half of the garlic powder for garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZEEDAZEE02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Thought I would give it a try in the Micro since I have never made it before.. it was bland too.. not enough seasoning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Been making Chex mix for years during the holidays. It's a great snack for everyone. I also leave out the wheat chex, don't care for them and often add parmesan twists or other type crackers, etc. Lots of options you can add/omit with this recipe. Also, I always bake mine in the oven, it's so much better that way. I don't see how the micro way could taste good at all or come out crispy like it should be. Double or even triple the seasoning/butter! as is it comes out way too bland! I also add a touch of hot sauce and cayenne pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I would never use the microwave. Bake for one hour at 350 and stir every 15 mins. Comes out more crispy. I use Cherrios instead of wheat chex and skip the bagel bites. Sometimes add some Tabasco for some heat. I've been eating this for 50 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I added celery salt and hot pepper sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Cooking it in the microwave burnt the butter within first two minutes. Totally ruined. Not sure how this works for anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Note: I baked in the oven for an hour instead of microwaving A good starting point but I like to make modifications (i.e. I added Cheez-Its as that's how we ate it growing up and added more pretzel [sticks] than called for). All that being said, I definitely think you need lots more of the seasoning. Because I added cheezits and more pretzels, I doubled the seasoning and still added more during baking. I'd probably double my doubling of the Worcestershire in the future and add more salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeyND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States