Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I always use Cheerios instead of the bagel chips. This recipe is a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
2 stars for recipe as is. I made two batches to use up all the cereal boxes and the first one was way too bland. I doubled the seasonings of the second batch and it was nearly perfect, though maybe a touch salty. Next time I will add an extra T of W. sauce and maybe 1 t less seasoning salt. Oh, and as so many others suggested, I went the oven route: 250 for 1 hr, stirred every 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I like this recipe but I make mine in the oven and I always substitute cajun seasoning for the seasoned salt ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My mother made the real original Chex mix recipe when I was a kid. Instead of butter, it had vegetable oil; no onion powder and garlic salt instead of powder. No bagel chips (they didn't exist) and pretzel stix instead of bite-sized. Equal amounts of peanuts and mixed nuts, also Cheerios and Kix cereals. Baked at 250 degrees for an hour (not microwaved). I think the longer cooking time at a low temp helps to blend the flavors. My family still makes this recipe whenever we get together for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My grandmother's recipe is almost identical with two important changes! Add 1-2T of Frank's Red Hot sauce (Grandma put in 1 T Tabasco but that seems too extreme) to the mixture while melting butter. Also 1 teas. celery salt. Don't forget to add Cheerios, equal portions as the Chex Product! Everyone who has tried my recipe says it is the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
i like to take out the pretzels and put cheese nips in, or the flat "everything" pretzels that are minature-you can get those at Trader Joe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Tried and true classic but you MUST make it in the oven. 250, stir every 15 minutes. I leave out the nuts and usually the pretzels, and add a cup or two of cheerios (mom always did so I do too). Sometimes I throw in a cup or two of honeycombs too, to give it a little taste of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Traded Hidden Valley ranch dressing dry packet instead of individual spices. Once the mix was cooling, I still needed to add Garlic Powder to taste, and then additional Lawry's seasoning salt to taste. I really enjoy seasoned mixes, so I added quite a bit in addition to the recipe. Turned out great & well seasoned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Of course, this is the best chex mix recipe :) I did cut it in 1/2 and did the oven method, 250 degrees for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Excellent for football snacking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
It is the best. We make it and send to our soldier over seas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States