Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Tried and true classic but you MUST make it in the oven. 250, stir every 15 minutes. I leave out the nuts and usually the pretzels, and add a cup or two of cheerios (mom always did so I do too). Sometimes I throw in a cup or two of honeycombs too, to give it a little taste of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Traded Hidden Valley ranch dressing dry packet instead of individual spices. Once the mix was cooling, I still needed to add Garlic Powder to taste, and then additional Lawry's seasoning salt to taste. I really enjoy seasoned mixes, so I added quite a bit in addition to the recipe. Turned out great & well seasoned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Of course, this is the best chex mix recipe :) I did cut it in 1/2 and did the oven method, 250 degrees for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Excellent for football snacking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
It is the best. We make it and send to our soldier over seas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Not nearly enough kick. I ended up doubling all the spices and butter and then still splashing more worcesterchire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
love this stuff for the past 30 years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I was looking for a gluten-free snack and this is it! I opted out of the pretzels & garlic chips, but did use pecans and spicy spanish peanutes. We like a little kick in our snacks so I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper into the butter mixture. I also added Honey Nut Chex which is a pleasant surprise and adds balance to the cayenne heat. I HIGHLY recommend taking the time to bake this at 250 for an hour stirring every 15 minutes. I lined my pan with Reynolds Non-Stick Liner and it worked great with easy clean up. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I agree with doubling the spices. I also add paprika, cayenne and most importantly I add 1/2 tsp Cajun Seasoning + more sprinkled while mixing. Gives it just the right amount of kick. I use Cheerios in place of bagel chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
How can you go wrong with this one? Used cheerios instead of wheat chex and increased the pretzels to 2 cups after I left out the bagel chips. My son likes the original better than the deviled chex mix, which was also a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curlyfry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Instead of using seasoned salt, I substitute celery salt. Also use garlic salt instead of garlic powder, and add about 3/4 Tablespoon vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States