Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
We used all the seasonings except for the onion powder,also we only used the cereal(our mistake). It turndrd out all soggy! Probably our mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Of course this stuff is a classic. It's really good, but my husband joked about needing a spoon and some milk because the Chex is so overwhelming. Next time I made it I used 3 c LESS Chex and increased the pretzels and bagel chips (which I subbed Ritz cracker chips for because I live overseas and the commissary doesn't carry bagel chips). Then it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Just like mom made when I was a kid...with a few tweeks. I used a bit more of the wet stuff (aka butter and Worcestershire sauce) and seasoning. I also added cayenne because we like it spicy, it was awesome! I don't think exact measurements are needed on this, it's all about your taste. I also put it in the oven at 350 and stirred it every 15 min til I felt it was done (about an hour depending on the amount you are making and how thinly it is spread on your baking base i.e. cookie sheet/roasting pan, etc.) I am allergic to tree nuts except for almonds so I used raw almonds and dry roasted peanuts. I think next time I would try leaving the nuts out until almost done then add just honey roasted peanuts for a little savory sweet action.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is a Christmas tradition at our house. But over the years we've tweaked it. We've always used plain old party peanuts and instead of bagel chips, we've come to prefer Pepperidge Farm cheddar goldfish. The first recipe we used called for Cheerios and small stick pretzels, the "nuts and bolts" which we still use. When the family sits around the table playing a game, there's always nuts and bolts and beer! How good it that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
this recipe is delicious! the cooking method leaves something to be desired (as has been stated over and over). the one time i tried in microwave it was pretty blah. the oven really roasts the nuts and cereal to perfection. i double the seasonings, and make a ton of this and my family looks forward to it every holiday. this christmas i will be adding cheerios for my son who is addicted to them. happy holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelle
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe is so simple to make. I have made 2 batches so far and the entire family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I experimented with both margarine and stick butter. The margarine is much better. The stick butter doesn't mix with the powdered ingredients evenly. It stays hovering in pouring bowl and doesn't pour out evenly over mix. I also added a little tobasco to give it a little more flavor but not to much to be hot. Very good. I'm experimenting with chipolte tobasco. So far so good. all positive comments so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Still trying to find the original. I've read so much and tried different varieties. I used to have it and now can't find it. I followed the advice left by many and doubled the seasonings - still I'm finding it a bit bland. I also roasted it but will try in microwave too. This was good, it's just not the original like Chex is saying it is....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was really fun to make with my daughter. I doubled the seasonings as one reviewer suggested. I used broken up garlic Melba toast in place of bagel chips. Also, I cooked in the oven, just because it's more fun that way. This turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by entityellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States