Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I followed the directions exactly and was very disappointed. (After cooling and tasting, I put it into a pan and baked it at 250 for 45 minutes, and then it was much, much better.) The long, slow cooking of the old recipe blends the flavors and crisps the cereal and nuts into a snack mix rather than just seasoned cereal. The microwave version tastes as good as the bagged Chex mix, but if you want it better than that, bake it at 250 for about an hour, stirring every 15 minutes or so. Pecans are a great addition if you use the slow bake method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
678 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is in our house every holiday, by demand from the family. However, I double all the seasonings, but not the butter, and use whole grain Cheerios instead of the garlic bread things. I also add quite a bit of Tabasco and cayenne. Taste the seasonings mixed with the butter before you add the cereals and make sure it tastes spicy - it will be a lot milder once mixed and cooked. I also cook in the oven at 250 for an hour, stirring every 15 minutes, instead of cooking in the microwave. It is MUCH better after cooling on the newspaper covered with paper towels than fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I used Crispix instead of Chex (only one box needed to get corn & rice). Tried this in the microwave and next time I will distribute seasoning more evenly to avoid scorching saturated pieces - also stir more often. Traditional oven method still best if time allows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Yum! The classic chex mix - can't get any better! This recipe can be modified in so many ways and it still tastes delicious :) I used club snack sticks broken up instead of bagel chips and used goldfish brand pretzels - just the right size! Also, couldn't find wheat chex at my local grocery store so I just adjusted the others to make up for the loss. Again, yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Fantastic for my first try! I will definitely make this again, but next time I'll make more of the spice mix and pour it over the top after mixing all the cereals, pretzels, etc. together. I think it will help it to mix in better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I was a little nervous about making this in the microwave, as opposed to the traditional oven method, but it turned out great and saved time, which I LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
OMG...I cannot believe how easy this was first of all! I was super paranoid about making it in the microwave because i thought it would get soggy, I have always made it in the oven in the past. Let me tell you that this is how i will make it from now on! This recipe is so super easy, super delicious,and super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Southern Charm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is a great recipe. Easy and not too fattening. I, too, couldn't find Wheat Chex, so I just added more of the Corn and Rice (they taste better anyway).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 221BBAKERSTREET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
The (old) original recipe had no bagel chips and only garlic and onion salts, no seasoned salt. It also called for lemon juice. When i make it, i use whole boxes of cereal (my family likes one box each of corn and rice Chex, one box Crispix, and one small box Cheerios. Of course the small pretzel sticks(1/2 bag), one can cashew halves, one can fancy mixed nuts,without peanuts(otherwise the whole batch tastes like peanuts) 12T. butter,4T. lemon juice, 9T. Worchestershire, 1 T. each onion and garlic salts. Mix all cereals,nuts,pretzels in a large roaster pan. Melt butter and add rest of seasonings, re-warm in mw and mix well so salts are dissolved. Pour over mix in pan, stir well, bake for 45 min. 250 degrees, stirring every 15 min. Cool really well...I put it outside in the winter so it cools and stays crisp. Freeze in zip bags and use as needed. Enough to take to gatherings and give as gifts. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I am honored to be able to be the first to rate this recipe. Who hasn't made, eaten and loved Chex Mix? Oh the memories of making this with various beloved family members now gone; and the new memories being made of making this with our children. Chex Mix is an American staple, because it is yummy and addicting! Thank you Chex :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States