Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Good. I recommend cooking it in the oven rather than the microwave (as other reviewers suggest).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
i ? chexmix!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakeluvr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
yummmmm good stuff indeed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Wynantskill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
this recipe needs some serious revisions. i doubled the amount of topping because when i added the original measurements, the mix was still VERY dry. i also put in 2 extra tablespoons of worcestershire. instead of a total of 9 cups of chex products, i added 6 and then added a cup each of goldfish and cheerios. i also baked in the oven on 275 for an hour turning every 10 minutes. came out tasting delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karennn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
A family favorite around the holidays. I have never used the microwaved version, I spread on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 for about 45 mins to an hour (or when crisped enough for my liking) turning every 20 mins or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Killingly, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
How can an original NOT get 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
If you're looking for the true "original" Chex mix recipe, folks, this isn't it. The original recipe was slow-baked in the oven, didn't have bagel chips, and had enough butter so that the spice blend would actually stick to the snack ingredients. My daughter followed this recipe (as posted on the box), thinking she'd end up with our favorite snack, and we ended up eating warmed-up cereal and nuts, and wiping our fingers along the bowl to get the spices. Don't change a great thing, General Mills...and then call it the "original." This is far from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
My first time making Chex Mix! I like making it instead of buying it! I doubled the seasoning for one batch of chex mix. I always thought home made chex mix was VERY bland, but doubling the seasonings turned out MUCH better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I did this recipe but we were unable to find the rye chips or bagel chips. Over all we followed the recipe to the exact specs(except for the chips) It was a really good recipe. We will make this again. We also made a BBQ one it turned out awesome. I think that we should have added a little more butter and worcestershire sauce but it turned out really good other wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I make this every year during the holidays, everyone loves it. I personally don't care for Wheat Chex, so I use Kellogg's Crispix, which is rice on one side, corn on the other. I also use an entire cube of butter (8 tbsp). When adding the spices and worcestershire, I use the amounts called for, but I make sure the measuring spoons are VERY full. I also use the microwave, and nobody has ever complained. As far as it not being the so called "original" recipe, to that I say WHO CARES? This is yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States