Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Man, was I ever leery about microwaving this! I made 2 batches, doubling the spices for each, and did the first round the old fashioned way in the oven at 250 for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. The 2nd batch, I tried the microwave and IT WORKS! Just don't go over 5 minutes as it can over-toast (I spaced and let it go about 20 seconds too long). It didn't ruin it completely, it was just a little over-toasted in one area. I'll be doing it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clair780

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Making this brought back memories of making party mix with my mom every Christmas. I love this stuff!! I've never tried the microwave method but it turned out great from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Just made three batches of this to put in Christmas gift baskets. It was actually my first time making Chex mix! Please read the following sentence carefully: DOUBLE THE SEASONINGS. DO IT. I'm not joking. The original recipe is SO bland by itself. I took other's suggestions and doubled all the spices except the butter. Then made it according to the recipe. I made it as is the first time and was VERY disappointed with the lack of flavor. I added more seasoning salt to it which helped, but the second time i doubled it and it was much much better. Otherwise definitely a classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I prefer the oven method myself but other than that its still FAB. Try adding a few drops of liquid smoke to the butter...SOOOOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
My grandmother always put plain cheerios in hers. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I followed the recipe to the T and did the microwave as instructed, stirring after 2 minutes, when I returned it to the Microwave for for the second 2 minutes, it burnt the wheat chex and the pretzels. I tried another batch and it was the same result, be careful, I recommend you spread it on a baking sheet and bake it, bummed, first failure ever at Allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Tripled this recipe and used the slow bake method. My husband LOVES this. This is better than the Chex Mix bags in the store - lots more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Breaux Bridge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was fun to make! I followed Grampnana's recipe tweaks and got the results I was after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is a holiday favorite at our house. Firstly, I have never tried the microwave for this, but 250º for ohe hour, stirring every 15 mins is the preferred method for me. Also, I recommend Lawry's seasoned salt for this recipe. I've tried a generic brand and it just wasn't nearly as good. Also, instead of the bagel chips, I use baby Pepperidge Farm Goldfish crackers, I've also used Cheerios instead of the bagel chips. Treat your family to a delicious, traditional snack at the holidays, or anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
just made this again for the umpteenth time. BUT....never in the microwave, always slow baked in a 275 oven stirring about every 10 -15 minutes for an hour. Also, I up the butter to a full cube and am very generous with my spices. Can't ever find the rye chips or bagel chips so I always use the goldfish crackers and sesame stick crackers. This year I did find a corn chip with flax seed and love that addition too. 4 stars for the micro directions, 5 for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States