Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I'm addicted to it! I skip the bagel bites and add in extra nuts. I also bake it in the oven at 250 degrees for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I make this every year, but have strayed from the original by using goldfish, cheezits, and any other small crackers I can think of. It's always good. I still like to bake it in the oven though, instead of using the microwave. I bake it in a 200 degree oven for 45 minutes, turning the mixture over with a spatula every 15 minutes. I have also enjoyed adding 1/2 to 2/3 cup of raisins, or craisins for the final 15 minutes. It doesn't last long around my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I always use Cheerios instead of the bagel chips. This recipe is a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
2 stars for recipe as is. I made two batches to use up all the cereal boxes and the first one was way too bland. I doubled the seasonings of the second batch and it was nearly perfect, though maybe a touch salty. Next time I will add an extra T of W. sauce and maybe 1 t less seasoning salt. Oh, and as so many others suggested, I went the oven route: 250 for 1 hr, stirred every 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I like this recipe but I make mine in the oven and I always substitute cajun seasoning for the seasoned salt ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My mother made the real original Chex mix recipe when I was a kid. Instead of butter, it had vegetable oil; no onion powder and garlic salt instead of powder. No bagel chips (they didn't exist) and pretzel stix instead of bite-sized. Equal amounts of peanuts and mixed nuts, also Cheerios and Kix cereals. Baked at 250 degrees for an hour (not microwaved). I think the longer cooking time at a low temp helps to blend the flavors. My family still makes this recipe whenever we get together for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My grandmother's recipe is almost identical with two important changes! Add 1-2T of Frank's Red Hot sauce (Grandma put in 1 T Tabasco but that seems too extreme) to the mixture while melting butter. Also 1 teas. celery salt. Don't forget to add Cheerios, equal portions as the Chex Product! Everyone who has tried my recipe says it is the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
i like to take out the pretzels and put cheese nips in, or the flat "everything" pretzels that are minature-you can get those at Trader Joe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Tried and true classic but you MUST make it in the oven. 250, stir every 15 minutes. I leave out the nuts and usually the pretzels, and add a cup or two of cheerios (mom always did so I do too). Sometimes I throw in a cup or two of honeycombs too, to give it a little taste of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Traded Hidden Valley ranch dressing dry packet instead of individual spices. Once the mix was cooling, I still needed to add Garlic Powder to taste, and then additional Lawry's seasoning salt to taste. I really enjoy seasoned mixes, so I added quite a bit in addition to the recipe. Turned out great & well seasoned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States