Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Booo...didnt the "Original" version require an oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Classic Chex mix at it's best! Been eating this during the holiday season since I was a little girl. As soon as Chex Cereals go on sale I will be making this! Great snack for parties, at home, or really any time. Much better then the store bought chex mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This is a great recipe. I used pistacios instead of mixed nuts... mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is good, but I thought it didn't have quite enough flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. I think next time I will reduce the amount of cereal to 8 cups instead of 9. Maybe that will be just enough to give it that little bit more flavor I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is in our house every holiday, by demand from the family. However, I double all the seasonings, but not the butter, and use whole grain Cheerios instead of the garlic bread things. I also add quite a bit of Tabasco and cayenne. Taste the seasonings mixed with the butter before you add the cereals and make sure it tastes spicy - it will be a lot milder once mixed and cooked. I also cook in the oven at 250 for an hour, stirring every 15 minutes, instead of cooking in the microwave. It is MUCH better after cooling on the newspaper covered with paper towels than fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I followed the directions exactly and was very disappointed. (After cooling and tasting, I put it into a pan and baked it at 250 for 45 minutes, and then it was much, much better.) The long, slow cooking of the old recipe blends the flavors and crisps the cereal and nuts into a snack mix rather than just seasoned cereal. The microwave version tastes as good as the bagged Chex mix, but if you want it better than that, bake it at 250 for about an hour, stirring every 15 minutes or so. Pecans are a great addition if you use the slow bake method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
709 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I love this stuff! I have to admit, I had a LOT of misgivings about making it in the microwave, the really brown crunchy parts are my favorite. To my surprise, I still got them! It was SO much quicker than the whole bake for an hour, stir every 15 minutes way, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was a huge deal in my family growing up. Everyone begged my grandmother to make it. She even had a special "crock" that she stored it in. This is NOT as good as the oven method, but easier and still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Feel a little silly that I have never made Chex Mix. My daughter thinks I can make the sun rise now. I did mine in the oven, so I could only give it 4 stars since I didn't use the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilmasteca

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
OMG...I cannot believe how easy this was first of all! I was super paranoid about making it in the microwave because i thought it would get soggy, I have always made it in the oven in the past. Let me tell you that this is how i will make it from now on! This recipe is so super easy, super delicious,and super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Southern Charm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 171-180 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States