Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Instead of microwaving, I baked this at 275 degrees for 60 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
A staple during the holidays at our house! We skip the bagel chips but add in some sort of cheese cracker like cheese nips or goldfish - adds a bit of variation in there. We replace Corn Chex as well with Cheerios and Kix cereals. Doesn't make much of a difference to the taste, but the variation in cereals makes it fun for little kids (I used to put the cheerios on the pretzel sticks as a kid)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Booo...didnt the "Original" version require an oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Classic Chex mix at it's best! Been eating this during the holiday season since I was a little girl. As soon as Chex Cereals go on sale I will be making this! Great snack for parties, at home, or really any time. Much better then the store bought chex mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This is a great recipe. I used pistacios instead of mixed nuts... mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is good, but I thought it didn't have quite enough flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. I think next time I will reduce the amount of cereal to 8 cups instead of 9. Maybe that will be just enough to give it that little bit more flavor I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is in our house every holiday, by demand from the family. However, I double all the seasonings, but not the butter, and use whole grain Cheerios instead of the garlic bread things. I also add quite a bit of Tabasco and cayenne. Taste the seasonings mixed with the butter before you add the cereals and make sure it tastes spicy - it will be a lot milder once mixed and cooked. I also cook in the oven at 250 for an hour, stirring every 15 minutes, instead of cooking in the microwave. It is MUCH better after cooling on the newspaper covered with paper towels than fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I followed the directions exactly and was very disappointed. (After cooling and tasting, I put it into a pan and baked it at 250 for 45 minutes, and then it was much, much better.) The long, slow cooking of the old recipe blends the flavors and crisps the cereal and nuts into a snack mix rather than just seasoned cereal. The microwave version tastes as good as the bagged Chex mix, but if you want it better than that, bake it at 250 for about an hour, stirring every 15 minutes or so. Pecans are a great addition if you use the slow bake method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
716 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I love this stuff! I have to admit, I had a LOT of misgivings about making it in the microwave, the really brown crunchy parts are my favorite. To my surprise, I still got them! It was SO much quicker than the whole bake for an hour, stir every 15 minutes way, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was a huge deal in my family growing up. Everyone begged my grandmother to make it. She even had a special "crock" that she stored it in. This is NOT as good as the oven method, but easier and still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States