Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is my first time making chex mix so thank you to the reviewers that gave the oven directions, even the chex box had the microwave directions and I wanted to do it the old fashioned way. I used regular goldfish, pretzel goldfish, peanuts, rice and corn chex. I added more seasoning salt then the recipe called for and I also added a few teaspoons of cayenne pepper because we like spicy food. It had a very mild heat and turned out wonderful, my husband and kids still pout more hotsauce on while eating it. I plan on making this for Thanksgiving and i think everybody is going to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Okay, c'mon! 5*'s the way I made it in my youth! What happened folks? The microwave is faster, but sacrifices the taste! You are right, KID, there was an oven involved! Melt your butter on a cookie sheet (250 degree oven), then add your seasoning (I don't remember the garlic or onion, but I added it). Stir the cereal and nuts to coat, and then every 15 min. for 45 min. to an hour turn the mix to bake evenly. Perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Instead of microwaving, I baked this at 275 degrees for 60 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
A staple during the holidays at our house! We skip the bagel chips but add in some sort of cheese cracker like cheese nips or goldfish - adds a bit of variation in there. We replace Corn Chex as well with Cheerios and Kix cereals. Doesn't make much of a difference to the taste, but the variation in cereals makes it fun for little kids (I used to put the cheerios on the pretzel sticks as a kid)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Booo...didnt the "Original" version require an oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Classic Chex mix at it's best! Been eating this during the holiday season since I was a little girl. As soon as Chex Cereals go on sale I will be making this! Great snack for parties, at home, or really any time. Much better then the store bought chex mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This is a great recipe. I used pistacios instead of mixed nuts... mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is good, but I thought it didn't have quite enough flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. I think next time I will reduce the amount of cereal to 8 cups instead of 9. Maybe that will be just enough to give it that little bit more flavor I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is in our house every holiday, by demand from the family. However, I double all the seasonings, but not the butter, and use whole grain Cheerios instead of the garlic bread things. I also add quite a bit of Tabasco and cayenne. Taste the seasonings mixed with the butter before you add the cereals and make sure it tastes spicy - it will be a lot milder once mixed and cooked. I also cook in the oven at 250 for an hour, stirring every 15 minutes, instead of cooking in the microwave. It is MUCH better after cooling on the newspaper covered with paper towels than fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I followed the directions exactly and was very disappointed. (After cooling and tasting, I put it into a pan and baked it at 250 for 45 minutes, and then it was much, much better.) The long, slow cooking of the old recipe blends the flavors and crisps the cereal and nuts into a snack mix rather than just seasoned cereal. The microwave version tastes as good as the bagged Chex mix, but if you want it better than that, bake it at 250 for about an hour, stirring every 15 minutes or so. Pecans are a great addition if you use the slow bake method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
679 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States