Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Actually, the "real original recipe" called for Morton seasoned salt instead of the collection of seasoning. No other seasoned salt matches Morton's and unfortunately, they no longer sell it. Since I stocked up, I don't use the other seasonings. I do use the microwave in a 9x13 pan, 2 min. on high, stir throughly, and repeat 2 more times. Spread on paper towels and allow to cool completely. The stirring and the cooling are the secrets to great chex mix. ADDITIONAL NOTE: -the posted recipe is too much for a bowl, divide it for more surface area to cook/dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is one of my favorites! I like to add 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper for a little kick. Also, I was a little disappointed with the microwave method, so I went back to using the oven; 250 degrees for an hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is NOT the "Original" Chex party mix. The original recipe does not contain garlic powder, onion powder, or bagel chips. They keep saying that this is the the original recipe that's been around for 50 years. It's not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I always make this recipe in the microwave in a 5 quart corning casserole. Melt the butter, add seasoned salt & I use A-1 instead of Worcestershire. Stir to blend. Dump in mixed nuts and pretzels. I like to stir with a silcon spatula--it doesn't seem to break the cereal as much. Dump in the cereal. Stir to blend. Microwave 2 minutes on high. Stir one final time and microwave one more minute. Mix is not crispy when it first comes out of the microwave, but it crisps up nicely after a few minutes. You can make a several batches quickly this way, which is nice if you're giving it for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Definitely use butter it makes a big difference in the taste. Bake in the oven so the butter/garlic mixture gets absorbed into the cereal. Would not use the microwave for thise purpose, since it isn't quickly heating the ingredients. Leave out the seasoned salt since most snack food items alredy add enough salt to this recipe. You can really use any combination of your favorite snack items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This would be a 5 but please skip the microwave and use the oven! Cook at 250 and stir every 15 minutes. Also I usually cut the seasoning salt down to 1 tsp since the worcestershire tends to be salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I love this recipe. I have for years. My little twist is to add just a little parmesan cheese and Frank's Hot Sauce. TIP: You really don't need a whole lot of seasoning salt in this recipe, with the worchestershire it'll be plenty salty on it's own. If you want the best flavor, make it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I skip the nuts and bagel chips (personal preference) and use Annie's Vegetarian Worcestershire Sauce (original has anchovies). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
It's kind of wimpy. The crispiness is perfect, but we need MORE SEASONINGS! Less salt. Next time I am going to double the seasonings. Maybe it needs cayenne?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I had second thoughts about using the microwave, and I should have listened to my instincts. It was very chewy. I'll stick yo making it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clyde, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gibsonburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States