Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is just ok, something to munch on if desperate. I even doubled the dry ingredients. Not sure why it got such great reviews but I probably won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABRINAWRIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
A classic! You can't go wrong. We have some family members with nut allergies, so I sub Cheerios for the nuts - it is a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I love this kid friendly appetizer. I like baking mine instead of microwaving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great recipe. Makes a large amount. Great snack to have around when watching football! I prefer the oven-roasted recipe. Oven directions: Heat oven to 250°F. In large bowl, mix cereals, nuts, pretzels and bagel chips; set aside. In ungreased large roasting pan, melt butter in oven. Stir in seasonings. Gradually stir in cereal mixture until evenly coated. Bake 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Spread on paper towels to cool, about 15 minutes. Store in airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I've always been a fan of the Chex Mix that comes straight off the shelf, and decided to give this mix a try. After following a tweaked recipe where I increased the spices and changed a few ingredients (honey-roasted peanuts, flavored pita chips rather than bagel chips) it has become a milder version of the store-bought Chex Mix. This can definitely be remedied by increasing the amount of seasonings even more, but I've liked the cutback from adding too much flavor to the party mix. This nice and easy recipe gave me just the perfect base for a party mix that I needed, which is not too overwhelming in flavor and still great to snack on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Chu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used walnuts, pretzels, the chex cereals and double seasonings and the suggested butter. Baked at 250 for one hour stirring every 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made the half recipe that I found on the Chex website. However, I don't like the pretzels or bagel chips, so I used Cheerios cereal to replace the bagel chips and pretzels. It seems that it could use more butter and seasoning mixture. Mine turned out not well enough coated and I had to add more butter and of the Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Much better than the packaged
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is always a hit. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this for the first time with my kids and we loved it! I did use the oven method, baking at 250 degrees for one hour, stirring every 15 minutes. I also doubled the dry seasonings. I used corn and rice chex, roasted peanuts and small pretzels. It's great because you can put really just about anything in it that you want!! I think this is the start of a new holiday tradition for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaSunshine03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States