Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
No variation will ever beat the Original! I love that this can be microwaved - very fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Loubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Helen, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Here are some suggestions. 1. Double the batch (this bowl gets emptied way too soon!) 2. Use a big turkey roaster and put the cereal, chips, nuts (we love cashews and almonds), pretzels first. 3. Melt the butter and mix in all the seasonings then drizzle over the dry ingredients, stirring with each pass. If you melt in the pan and then add the cereal, the items in the bottom get soaked and the rest are dry. 4. Then we spray lemon juice on the mix! It is not the same without it. We lightly spray before we put it in the oven and each time we take it out to stir (every 15 minutes). We use a Pamperd Chef sprayer with stright lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I don't like bagel chips in this so I use Extreme Cheddar Goldfish. Yum!! Nice gift at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was super easy in the microwave, and actually I think better than the oven method. The only thing is that it seemed like it needed a tad more seasoning, so next time I will add alittle more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Classic! But dont microwave it bake it better results plus your house will smell soooo goood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Koons

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I don't know how you can call this the "original". The original party mix was not done in the microwave! It needs to be in the oven for an hour @ 250 and stirred every 15 minutes. And if you like it sweeter, I add a cup honey nut cheerios. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made this as written except I replaced the bagel chips with pita chips because I had them in my pantry. For the nuts, I used a planters mix of pecans, cashews and almonds. I also baked the mix rather than microwaving ---- personal preference. I love this mix. I hope my family doesn't eat it all before our guests arrive. Next time I may add cayenne pepper as some recommended. My family likes a little zing too, but I wasn't sure about my guests. If there is any left over I may add it then! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
It was a great recipe. I loved that you could use the microwave. I was able to cook dinner at the same time and didn't create that many dishes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Very good recipe. You don't need to let this cool all splayed out. I just turn my sink into an ice bath and place the bowl of mix into it, stirring once every few minutes. It works fast and doesn't change the texture or flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
really quick and easy taste pretty good too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States