Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this because I wanted a large quantity summer snack for my teenage boys who inhale everything I bring home. I omited worcestershire and used cheese pretzels and garlic parmesan pita chips (they are a lighter texture then bagel chips) I followed the recipe as written and was impressed at how easy it was to make and loved the results! Thank you for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by machel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
My MIL didn't have the seasoned salt one time so she substituted Tony Sachre's (?it's a green can) and it was AMAZING. I started making that change a constant when I make it. It can't be beat. Also, I use the big twisted pretzel sticks broken up into smaller pieces, they absorb the flavoring way better than the little pretzels or the thin sticks. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Ham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I agree with some of the other posters. I make enough of this at once (usually 2 or 3 times the original recipe) that I bake it in the oven instead of putting it in the microwave. I bake it at 250 for an hour, stirring every 15 minutes. I love making my own chex mix because I can put my favorite things in it. Mine has cheese itz, cashews (my husband is allergic to peanuts), corn chex only, pretzels, and rye chips. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was great, i just switched crispx for chex because its not available in my area and added plain cherrios. I would highly recommend this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I think this is wonderful. Much better than the store bought chex mix. I always cook it in the over, though. 250 degrees for about 45 minutes. Microwave makes it soggy. My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
tastes best baked at 250 degrees for about 45 min. It also tastes better after it has cooled and sat for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeyroad
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I love the crunch and the flavor. I think increasing the amount of buter would help cover more morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Five stars, only if made in the oven. Chex Mix is a New Year's tradition with my family. For some reason we rarely eat it any other time! I always double the seasoning mixture and bake it at 250 for an hour. It's so much better than the store-bought Chex Mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
CHEX PARTY MIX made in oven 1/2 c. butter 1 1/4 tsp. seasoned salt 4 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce 2 c. Corn Chex 2 c. Rice Chex 2 c. Bran Chex 2 c. Wheat Chex 1 c. salted mixed nuts Heat butter in large shallow roasting pan. Stir in seasoning; add Chex and nuts. Mix until all pieces are coated. Heat 1 hour at 250 degrees. Stir every 15 minutes. Makes 9 cups. May be frozen; thaw at room temperature in container in which it was stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I like the oven version better myself but it is still very good. I substitute cheerios for the bagel chips. You can also freeze the mix in ziploc bags. I do this every year and hubby has it for months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States