Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
DIdn't like microwave method. Went back to oven method 250 for 1hour stirring every 15 min. We really like it with garlic and onion powder than the salt. Always put tobacco in the mixture. Just a little kick. I always use butter it's not watered down. Oven method gets a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I did change the recipe so the 4 stars could have been my fault?? I'm thinking it was the "seasoning salt" that gave me the "chemical" like taste?? It's the only thing I can think of that would. I had read the review that the original recipe used garlic & onion salts (along with seeing it on the box) but I didn't have but the powders. I also doubled the spices - won't do that next time either - way too much for us...but it does keep us from eating too much of it ;) I would say maybe half again on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
It's a classic and always good. I always use more Worcestershire sauce, and seasonings, as I like a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
We used all the seasonings except for the onion powder,also we only used the cereal(our mistake). It turndrd out all soggy! Probably our mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Of course this stuff is a classic. It's really good, but my husband joked about needing a spoon and some milk because the Chex is so overwhelming. Next time I made it I used 3 c LESS Chex and increased the pretzels and bagel chips (which I subbed Ritz cracker chips for because I live overseas and the commissary doesn't carry bagel chips). Then it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Just like mom made when I was a kid...with a few tweeks. I used a bit more of the wet stuff (aka butter and Worcestershire sauce) and seasoning. I also added cayenne because we like it spicy, it was awesome! I don't think exact measurements are needed on this, it's all about your taste. I also put it in the oven at 350 and stirred it every 15 min til I felt it was done (about an hour depending on the amount you are making and how thinly it is spread on your baking base i.e. cookie sheet/roasting pan, etc.) I am allergic to tree nuts except for almonds so I used raw almonds and dry roasted peanuts. I think next time I would try leaving the nuts out until almost done then add just honey roasted peanuts for a little savory sweet action.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is a Christmas tradition at our house. But over the years we've tweaked it. We've always used plain old party peanuts and instead of bagel chips, we've come to prefer Pepperidge Farm cheddar goldfish. The first recipe we used called for Cheerios and small stick pretzels, the "nuts and bolts" which we still use. When the family sits around the table playing a game, there's always nuts and bolts and beer! How good it that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
this recipe is delicious! the cooking method leaves something to be desired (as has been stated over and over). the one time i tried in microwave it was pretty blah. the oven really roasts the nuts and cereal to perfection. i double the seasonings, and make a ton of this and my family looks forward to it every holiday. this christmas i will be adding cheerios for my son who is addicted to them. happy holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelle
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe is so simple to make. I have made 2 batches so far and the entire family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Retro Cocktail Party

Clink your glasses in a toast to cool days gone by.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States