Original Chex® Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is a holiday favorite at our house. Firstly, I have never tried the microwave for this, but 250º for ohe hour, stirring every 15 mins is the preferred method for me. Also, I recommend Lawry's seasoned salt for this recipe. I've tried a generic brand and it just wasn't nearly as good. Also, instead of the bagel chips, I use baby Pepperidge Farm Goldfish crackers, I've also used Cheerios instead of the bagel chips. Treat your family to a delicious, traditional snack at the holidays, or anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
just made this again for the umpteenth time. BUT....never in the microwave, always slow baked in a 275 oven stirring about every 10 -15 minutes for an hour. Also, I up the butter to a full cube and am very generous with my spices. Can't ever find the rye chips or bagel chips so I always use the goldfish crackers and sesame stick crackers. This year I did find a corn chip with flax seed and love that addition too. 4 stars for the micro directions, 5 for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Yummy! We don't have Chex Mix in Germany so I used this recipe to duplicate one of my favorite snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I make this every year during the holidays! However, I double all of the seasonings and bake it at 200 degrees for one hour stirring every 15 minutes. I add some sort of cheese crackers and once cooled I add chocolate m&m's to add a little sweetness! It's always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I can't believe I've been eating this for over 50 years!! Still good as ever and with some of the new flavors in chips, do dads, and pretzels the combination are endless. This time I added honey/mustard pretzels and left the bagel chips out, added 1/2t of celery salt, and a couple of extra tablespoons of butter and Worcestershire sauce. Taste great and I think it will go over good at tonight's Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
YOU HAVE TO BAKE IT FOR THE BEST RESULTS! SKIP THE MICROWAVE!!! If you have never had homemade Chex mix, you are missing out! It is completely different from that bland stuff that comes pre-packaged. However, as a lover of salt and butter, I usually DOUBLE the sauce, add more Chex and pretzels, and use 8 tbsp of butter. Mmmm. Tastes like Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I love Chex Mix, but I don't eat it anymore because of the BHT found in Chex cereals. So I used some organic multigrain "Chex" instead. I didn't have any onion powder so I just used dried minced onion instead. Also, we had no bagel chips so I just left them out. I baked the mix at 250 degrees for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes, instead of using the microwave. Though not as good as the Chex Mix I remember, using the organic "Chex" still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Good. I recommend cooking it in the oven rather than the microwave (as other reviewers suggest).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
i ? chexmix!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakeluvr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
yummmmm good stuff indeed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Wynantskill, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States